Enfant de Supermarche

IMG_9253b

I had planned a rant this week and I think it was about knowing where your food comes from, for example a shank of meat.  But I’ve forgotten what I wanted to say and you’ll be sorry when all of us baby boomers are dead and you’ll never learn anything.  You’re asking yourself now, “What’s a baby boomer?”  Case closed 😀

IMG_9147b

Anyway.  I love shelling fresh beans.  It makes me feel so old school.  To be honest, I didn’t grow up shelling beans; we bought them dried at the supermarket in bags like everybody else.  My mother probably grew up shelling beans but was ashamed to talk about it 🙂  She came from the South and moved to the West where supermarkets were cool, sophisticated and, at that time, still sold real food.  No way was she going to be labeled “country” by her peers who were all, in reality, country.  Ubiquitous Texas potato salad was only one manifestation.

I love my kitchen in France!  The kitchen in Pennsylvania, while larger and brighter, doesn’t have the same ambiance or maybe feng sui.  It must be situated on the dragon’s eye or somewhere uncomfortable.

IMG_9163b

In preparation for a small Sunday lunch, I bought some lamb shanks from the butcher Deneaux.  This is the first time I’ve visited his shop because it’s on the outskirts of town and I’ve been satisfied with the butchers in town.  However, my friend Babou showed me a pamphlet that listed Deneaux as a source for Mont St Michel salt marsh lamb.  Of course I had to go!

IMG_9204b

Deneaux has lovely meat!  I did buy a leg and a rack of the Mont St. Michel lamb for later revels, but for Sunday I chose the lamb shanks of normal French lamb because, panicking, I wanted to be sure to make fresh beans again before the season ends.

IMG_9223b

I cooked the beans in a traditional French method with rustically smoked bacon and bay leaf, added some brown sugar and mustard and briefly heated them in the oven a l’American.

IMG_9194b

I tajine-ed the shanks with onion, shallots, tomatoes and random herbs.  Melt in the mouth perfection!

IMG_9267b

We began with a Champagne apertif and a shrimp, avocado and mango cocktail.  I must spend more time at the fishmonger’s!  I’m sure I must be deficient in vitamin B, D or both 😉  This cocktail or salad would be great with some spicy Mexican food.

IMG_9238b

Thierry and Arielle brought a 40 year old bottle of Pomerol and we all prayed as Thierry painstakingly pried out the cork.  Not vinegar!  In fact, enjoyably drinkable!

IMG_9280b

We took our time as usual, talking politics, children and of course food.  Catherine Marceau, a good neighbor, is going to guide me through the mushroom and truffle season. So excited!  Here in Bourgogne we are lucky to have a “gray” truffle, less expensive at 300-400 euros per kilo than the black truffle at 600-1200 euros per kilo.  The Bourgogne truffle is known to be the only truffle present on French royal tables from before the Middle ages, up until the Renaissance.

IMG_9309b

I teasingly threatened not to serve the cheese course and wiped that happy look off Le Parret’s face 😀

IMG_9300b

M. Parret’s vine peaches are so beautiful.  I love that layer of cherry color just underneath the skin.

IMG_9187b

Rich, blushing peach ice cream for desert.  I imagine I’ll continue to make ice cream, no matter the weather, until there’s no more fresh fruit to put inside 😉

IMG_9311b

Shrimp, Avocado and Mango Cocktail

1 lb shrimp, shelled, headed and deveined

1 mango, peeled and cut into cubes

1 avocado, peeled and cut into cubes

2 scallions, thinly sliced

1 small bunch cilantro, chopped

1/4 tsp piment d’espelette

3 tbsp lime juice

1 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp olive oil

Place the shrimp, mango, avocado, scallions, cilantro and piment in a large bowl.  Whisk the lime juice, sugar and olive oil together.  Pour over the shrimp mixture and blend well. Refrigerate for an hour and serve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Enfant de Supermarche

  1. A perfect meal – wish I’d been there!

  2. abuela says:

    We used to shell fresh butterbeans in NC. Some neighbors had machines to do it and advertised from their front porches. Those peaches look luscious. We can’t get good peaches here in Mexico.

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    How you have the nerve to even think of ‘going off on one’ when you are surrounded with such a wealth of fine food and friends. Count your blessings. Leave the ranting to me.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    What a feast! I do hope your salt marsh lamb is excellent. I would love to have tried the Pomerol and I look forward to hearing about the mushrooms and truffles 🙂

  5. Judith says:

    I enjoy your beautiful photographs as much as your recipes. As a devoted Francophile I can vicariously enjoy the obvious conviviality in your gathering. What a wonderful feast! I hope all enjoyed a nice promenade after the meal!

  6. Some very nice shots and some very, very nice cooking. Wonderful shot of the dusty Pomerol and also of the peches de vigne…you’ve found some very good friends:)

  7. Everything looks delicious, but I’ll definitely have to try the Shrimp, Avocado and Mango Cocktail! Three of my favorite foods in one dish 🙂

  8. Oh bravo! And how wonderful the wine was good. Lovely all round.

  9. sallyb113 says:

    Wonderful menu and great images. Have you been on a photography course or are you just a natural

  10. What a gorgeous looking meal – I just know that it tasted divine!!

  11. Pingback: Coddiwomple | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

