Strawberry Ice Cream

IMG_8922bApparently, I’m not over the homemade ice cream craving and although the strawberry season is well over in France, I found some sweet strawberries from Belgium in the market.

IMG_8908b

My Cuisinart ice cream making machine is so simple to use and clean, I’m practically forced to make ice cream, even though it’s cold and raining outside.  You think Le Parret will say no?   Not until he doesn’t have the strength to lift a spoon 😀

IMG_8937b

Even though he criticized the fact that I don’t make custard ice cream, he was disappointed to hear that I’m retiring the ice cream maker until Spring.  It’s getting cold and time to make heavier, warmer fare.  I’ve got a new pasta machine that I hope to impress myself with 😉

Strawberry Ice Cream

1 1/2 lb fresh strawberries, sliced

Juice 1/2 lemon

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup milk

Mix the 2/3 of the strawberries, lemon juice and 1/2 cup of the sugar together, refrigerate for 2 hours, stirring every 30 minutes.  Strain the juice from the fruit, refrigerate the fruit and reserve the juice.

Whisk the eggs together in a bowl for about 1-2 minutes until fluffy.  Add the remaining 1/2 cup of sugar a little at a time until blended.  Add the cream and milk and whisk until blended.  Blend in the juice and put this mixture into the chilled container of an ice cream making machine, then turn it on for about 30 minutes.  Add the sugared and natural 1/2 lb of strawberries and continue to run the machine for 10-15 minutes.  Remove the ice cream from the container and freeze for a couple of hours.  Or just follow the instructions for your ice cream machine.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Strawberry Ice Cream

  1. I should get my old fashioned ice cream maker down from the top shelf in summer time….but I never do….that ice cream of yours looks very appealing indeed:)

  2. heenie says:

    looks tempting and simple to amke.

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Ice Cream | City To Country Magazine

  4. Just got back to Spain and I am going to get my ice cream maker out – you have inspired me!

  5. Looks like you’ve had a lot of fun with your ice cream maker this year, Rosemary!! I think I’ll have to get one for next summer, perhaps one of the bowls that fit the kitchen aid stand mixer….

  6. tiffandsauce says:

    I’m a sucker for the simplicity of my cusinart ice cream maker as well…but usually the weather’s pretty inviting here in California {lucky}. I do have to side with Le Parret and admit to doing it custard style – and classic – with vanilla beans. Those Strawberries look Delightfully Delicious though!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Poor M. Parret! It’s getting cold here, but my neglected ice cream machine is calling to me from the top of my new fridge freezer, which, so far, still has an empty drawer. Things could change when I visit the butcher this morning… 🙂

  8. Pingback: There’s (almost) no such thing as a free lunch…. | Chica Andaluza

  9. Sabrina says:

    Yum, looks delicious!

  10. desikritika says:

    Looks yum

  11. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

Leave a Reply

