Mirabelle Ice Cream

IMG_8696bAfter M. Parret and I scraped the bottom of the peach ice cream container, we agreed that it tasted like MORE.

IMG_8606b

Although M.Parret had some “vine peaches” in his garden, they weren’t ripe yet and we didn’t want to wait 🙂  This led to an exhaustive discussion on the merits of various fruits that are in season and their suitability for ice cream.  We decided on mirabelle plums because they are at the peak of their season, juicy and sweet.

IMG_8629b

I picked up some rich, creamy, thick cream at the cheese stand in the market.  I’ve never seen cream like this!  It made me think of heart attacks 😀

IMG_8664b

So, what did we think?  I personally thought the mirabelle was okay but not as good as the peach.  The skin of the mirabelle was a little chewy, which didn’t bother me, but could stick in the “craw” of small children or really old people 🙂

Mirabelle Ice Cream

1 lb mirabelle plums, seeded and coarsely chopped

Juice 1/2 lemon

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup milk

Mix the plums, lemon juice and 1/2 cup of the sugar together, refrigerate for 2 hours, stirring every 30 minutes.  Strain the juice from the fruit, refrigerate the fruit and reserve the juice.

Whisk the eggs together in a bowl for about 1-2 minutes until fluffy.  Add the remaining 1/2 cup of sugar a little at a time until blended.  Add the cream and milk and whisk until blended.  Blend in the juice and put this mixture into the chilled container of an ice cream making machine, then turn it on for about 30 minutes.  Add the fruit and continue to run the machine for 10-15 minutes.  Remove the ice cream for the container and freeze for a couple of hours.  Or just follow the instructions for your ice cream machine.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Mirabelle Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Mirabelle Ice Cream | goals for advice

  2. Ruth says:

    Not familiar with that type of plum but your photos assure me the ice cream tastes heavenly!

  3. Mary Frances says:

    Thick cream like that definitely in moderation! But wow this looks so good, I’m more of a peach fan as well, but we have to experiment with new ideas, don’t we? Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Sounds good to me – it makes me want to get my ice cream machine out 🙂

  5. Caroline in San Francisco says:

    I am totally stealing your phrase “…it tasted like MORE”! Merci!

  6. What a great idea. I’ve been desperately trying to think of something a bit different to do with plums this year – and now I have the answer!

  7. I love your experimenting, maybe you should try a sorbet with the plums?

    • The French make good sorbet, so I wouldn’t want to try to rival that. Ice cream is what we want! Too bad I missed the strawberry and cherry season.

      • 😦 When I was about 14 we went on a day trip across the channel to France (Boulogne to be precise). Some girlfriends and I thought we were terribly sophisticated taking ourselves off to a bar to drink strong black coffee while the rest of the school trip were working out how to get drunk on cheap wine. We came unstuck when we decided to order a sorbet each. “What’s the French word for sorbet?” we asked each other in a panic…took us a good 10 minutes to work it out and we’re still pals today and still chuckle over the memory 🙂

  8. heenie says:

    Wow! Looks amazing.

  9. I really adore mirabelles ( why did I use two crap words to say “I like eating”) so, mirabelles are one of my favourite plums with a sadly short season. I’ve normally eaten the whole bowl while I’m looking up what to make with them. Best thing to make is a pig of oneself:)

  10. desikritika says:

    I’m not familiar with mirabelle plums.. But it looks amazing

  11. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

Leave a Reply

