Peach Ice Cream

IMG_8551b

I don’t scream for ice cream but I like it okay, if it is rich in butter fat, not a custard, doesn’t contain any evaporated milk and is not overloaded with sugar.  If it contains fruit, the fruit should be fresh and in discernible pieces/chunks.

IMG_8513b

When I was a child, I loved peach ice cream.  It was homemade, rich and creamy with chunks of fresh peaches inside, hand churned in relays.  Whoever made that ice cream must have died, leaving no recipe behind, because I have not found that style anywhere 😦

Still, the peaches are lovely in the market and I wanted some peach ice cream.  I can’t find my electric ice cream machine (none of that hand churning stuff for me).  God knows where it is,  and anyway I wasn’t looking forward to the salt and shaved ice routine.

IMG_8526b

Whether in the U.S. or France, whenever I feel the need to “acquire”, I first consult Amazon, in France, www.amazon.fr.  I found this way cool “Cuisinart ICE” ice cream maker. No shaved ice or salt required and the ice cream is ready in 30 minutes.  Clean up was a breeze.  I highly recommend this ice cream maker to those of you looking to acquire 😉

IMG_8562b

This Ben & Jerry’s inspired Peach Ice Cream recipe was good.  I decreased the sugar and next time, instead of supermarket cream, I will use a better quality cream from the farmer’s market.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, Fruit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Peach Ice Cream

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like delicious ice cream – the colour peach is perfect. I like the sound of your machine – I’ve got a Kenwood, but it requires chilling before use.

    • The container for this one also has to be chilled for at least 12 hours in the freezer but it can also be stored in the freezer in a plastic bag, ready for use at any time. I really like it.

      • Mad Dog says:

        Ah, mine sounds more or less the same. I did see a thing about making ice cream using liquid nitrogen this week – it takes about minute, but the down side is that you have to be very careful with the nitrogen.

  2. Sabine says:

    I acquired my machine, exactly like yours, about 5 weeks ago. I love it! I bought some beautiful peaches today so your post was perfect. Will be trying this recipe tomorrow.

  3. Gorgeous ice cream, gorgeous Nina and her song 🙂

  4. Yummy scrummy!! One of the many things to make before summer is out… 🙂

  5. Pingback: Mirabelle Ice Cream | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

