Two Dollar Chuck

IMG_8130b

My husband says that Trader Joe’s is advertising an affordable wine, supposedly drinkable, for only $2.  For those young professionals who crave the taste of wines aged in oak barrels, Joe’s offers the economical alternative of wine aged with oak chips.  Well! That’s all I can say.  Well!

IMG_8096b

And the real deal of the day:   Jacques, a retired Parisian butcher and the owner of my favorite spot to have coffee in the morning, Le Litteraire, contacted his friends at the local slaughterhouse and requested American cut ribs.  Because his friends refused to accept money for the ribs, Jacques refused to accept money from me and they were absolutely free!

I thought the ribs could have been cut a tad bit meatier but, as my husband said between bites, you can’t beat the quality and flavor of good European pork.

IMG_8107b

When I was shopping at Carrefour they had several varieties of Heinz BBQ sauce.  What the heck!  I took the “Classic” variety because the “Sweet” sounded eerie.

IMG_8119b

Surprisingly, the color and thickness of the sauce reminded me of my father’s homemade barbecue sauce, but it wasn’t.  Still it was okay for a bottled sauce.  I served the ribs with leftover ratatouille.

IMG_8160b

Barbecued Ribs

3 slabs pork ribs

Salt and pepper

Garlic powder

Rosemary leaves

Cumin Seeds

Barbecue sauce

Sprinkle the salt, pepper, garlic powder, rosemary, cumin on both sides of the ribs and rub in.  Refrigerate the ribs for at least 2 hours.

Heat the grill on high with all burners on for about 15 minutes.  Turn off half the burners, quickly brown both sides of the ribs, then place the ribs on the cold side of the grill, close the cover and roast for about 1 1/2 hours.

Brush the ribs with barbecue sauce and continue to roast for another 30 minutes, brushing with sauce and turning them every 10 minutes.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Two Dollar Chuck

  1. I could not get to this post fast enough! This looks amazing!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Isn’t it brilliant when being a regular customer gets you the odd free gift! Those ribs look delicious too 🙂
    IMHO that Heinz barbecue sauce is inedible. Most supermarket sauces in the UK (including the Heinz one) are far too sweet. Fortunately I found an American online store with a warehouse near me and they sell Stubb’s Original, which is good. They also let me buy online and then go and pick it up, so no delivery charge.

  3. gingy55 says:

    Reblogged this on jenniesfoodblog and commented:
    Oh man! Can’t you just taste it? I know I can.

  4. gingy55 says:

    Oh my goodness. Awesome! I can almost taste it! (Reblogged)

  5. Yay – free ribs! 🙂

  6. Nadia says:

    Two Buck Chuck – very popular with students

  7. Pingback: 25 Delicious Pork Ribs Recipes | FoodInspirasi

Leave a Reply

