Vide Frigidaire Ratatouille

IMG_8059b

It’s so hot!  While the heat doesn’t seem to stop me from shopping, I seem to run out of steam when it’s time to get in front of the stove/oven/grill.  Also there’s a fabulous, new, Japanese restaurant in town and other not so fabulous restaurants to be evaluated 😉

IMG_8015b

The freezer is moderately overflowing but the vegetable bins were so full of archaic, whimpering vegetables that even my husband said something.  “Uh, you going to cook?  I’ll get out of the way.”  Fine.  Just fine!

IMG_8034b

M. Parret:  I’ve not been feeling well lately, so I went to the doctor today.

Me:  Oh really?  What did he say.

M. Parret:  He told me that maybe I should slow down on the white wine…. And the red too.  I told him that I had been drinking a lot of water but he said he didn’t see much of that in my blood.

Me:  He told you to stop, didn’t he?  He told you to completely lay off for some weeks, didn’t he?

M. Parret:  Okay, but that was not the answer!  He’s not that great anyway.

Me:  Ha, ha ha.

IMG_8083b

I had some veal grillades in the freezer and thought I would make these with an onion gravy to accompany the ratatouille.  Too bad I thought too late about the photo.   My husband was glad about the gravy but kept searching his plate for non-existent mashed potatoes.  He had a glass of rose with his meal, M. Parret had water and I, sympathetically, had water also.  Le Parret was not appeased 😀

This was a job for my large Emile Henry stove-top to oven tajine because of the ridiculous amount of vegetables in the refrigerator.  You can make a smaller amount by just not using as much of the vegetables.  You can also add chicken broth/vegetable broth instead of water.  I couldn’t be bothered 😀

Refrigerator Ratatouille

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, diced

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 red bell pepper, diced

3-4 cloves garlic, slivered

2 tbsp olive oil

4 small or 2 normal sized aubergine, cubed

1 round courgette, cubed

4 tomatoes, coarsely chopped

2 fresh bay leaves

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 cup water

1 handful basil leaves, chopped

In a large skillet/stove top tajine, cook the onion, peppers and garlic until the onion is soft. Remove from the pan and set aside.

Add the remaining olive oil and aubergine to the skillet, then cook until the aubergine is tan brown/toasted.  Stir in the cooked onion mixture, the tomatoes, courgette, bay leaves, salt, pepper and water.  Bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.  Sprinkle with the basil and serve.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Vide Frigidaire Ratatouille

  1. Mad Dog says:

    If you empty the fridge you have an excuse to fill it with duck! The ratatouille looks great and I’m sure goes well with most things. I didn’t notice (above) that the Dr. forbade rosé. Please give M. Parret my commiseration, but tell him if he stops for a few days, he’s still got something to look forward to 😉

  2. jmcheney says:

    I have a Gaulique pal with a broken bone who spaces the pain meds & the glasses of wine. She tells her doc this regime is essential since her blood & muscles & bones are French. C’est necessaire pour Elle. Vive la difference!

  3. Light and airy, peppers and garlic combination is always a great idea! the sauce and squash you can taste this dish by site, and it looks delicious.

  4. Karista says:

    Love this Rosemary!

  5. Poor M. Parret – I think that rose (sorry, can’t make an accent with this keyboard!) would be fine too. And look at the lovely meal you made for him, that should make his doctor happy!

  6. Nothing better than a nice ratatouille! Oh, with a glass of wine, of course.

  7. I like shots of half eaten plates or finished plates of food..it’s says something about eating which is what we really write about…not presentation which is what pisses me off about chefs in general:)

  8. Nadia says:

    Oh, poor M. Parret. That is tough.

  9. Pingback: Two Dollar Chuck | Cooking in Sens

  10. Oh dear, stopping wine would interfere with quality of life for M Parret I would think. Hopefully this is just a temporary situation!

Leave a Reply

