Pappardelle avec Petit Pois

IMG_7998b

Inspiration for the pasta with peas came from Saveurs magazine.  The recipe was a little crazy because the title was Pappardelle with peas and mint but there wasn’t any mint in the recipe however there was basil.  Peu import, as they say since I’m not a recipe Nazi and had already decided to change the method and ingredients 😉  The original recipe is in the July-August French Saveurs magazine.

IMG_7969b

You see, I had this goodly amount of fairly expensive Bayonne ham leftover from sandwich making and the odd sundowner aperitif snack that begged to be paired with the fresh peas and volunteer onions that I decided to add, only because I was out of shallots.  There was no shallots in the recipe either but, again, peu import.  The method for this simple recipe was so convoluted that it smacked of Jamie when he’s playing super chef and employing too many steps and pans.  I was having none of that, boy howdy!

IMG_7964b

There was even a bit of silliness involved in making a regular basil pesto.  Just make it the normal way and you’ll be fine.

Pappardelle, Bayonne Ham, Fresh Peas and Zucchini Ribbons

2 lbs unshelled fresh peas

1/4 onion, thinly sliced

1 1/2 tbsp butter

1 cup Bayonne ham, chopped

1/4 cup water

1 zucchini, cut into ribbons

1 tbsp lemon juice

3/4-1 cup ricotta cheese

4 tbsp homemade pesto

1lb pappardelle pasta, cooked

Parmesan flakes

Shell the peas and set aside.  Cook the onion in the butter until soft.  Add the ham, peas and water to the pan, cover and steam for about 5 minutes.  Add the zucchini ribbons and lemon juice, then stir for about 1 -2  minutes until the zucchini is just wilted.  Set aside and keep warm.

Mix the cheese and pesto together, then add to the warm pasta with the pea and zucchini mixture, tossing until well coated.  Serve immediately,  sprinkled with the Parmesan flakes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Pappardelle avec Petit Pois

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds delicious – peas and ham go so well together 😉

  2. I do wonder if food magazines get so desperate for inspiration they begin to add steps to keep it “fresh”. I like your way.

  3. This looks delicious and perfect for summer. Hugs.

  4. Reblogged this on Foodfhonebook and commented:
    Love this
    Foodfhonebook

  5. milkandbun says:

    So easy recipe, but looks fantastic! 🙂

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    It looks like you enjoyed it more than that restaurant. I was too busy laughing at your descriptions to comment.
    Best,
    Conor

  7. amanda says:

    I would just eat that bowl of peas and ham together. I don’t know how you had the willpower to wait until the rest of the dish was ready!

  8. Annie says:

    this just looks so summery and delicious! Also, if you have some of that ham leftover…you should send it my way 😉

  9. It looks lovely and the preparation of the peas really reminds me of how my godmother (from northern Italy) always prepared her peas. And I mean ALWAYS – we used to get fed up when we were younger, now I miss them!

  10. Good dish…I haven’t cooked with that lovely broad pappardelle for years because I haven’t been able to buy it for years. Last time was when an Italian chef, a neighbour of ours back in England, cooked me a dish of pappardelle con lepre that I still remember in my dreams:)

  11. lucindainthekitchen says:

    Wow looks just gorgeous! Love the way you tinkered with the recipe 🙂

  12. My mouth is watering for some pappardelle – I don’t seem to be able to find any here. Peas and ham are a match made in heaven. 🙂

  13. V 8 Mile says:

    My aunt’s garden has exploded with tons of fresh peas… this looks like a great recipe to deal with the harvest.

  14. redrockherault says:

    Lovely summer food!!

  15. Pingback: Cheddar Cracker Chicken - The Bewitched Baker

Leave a Reply

