Trifling

IMG_6965b

Whenever my husband and I are in France together, it’s as if we are on vacation, no matter what our real responsibilities are; registering the cars, going to the bank, fielding estimates for house renovation, replacing the gas bottle for the grill, in general, getting things done. We can’t seem to get up to speed!  It also doesn’t help that Le Parret always suggests “une verre” to help us think.  Not.

IMG_6926b

So that’s why we didn’t buy a gas bottle on Saturday to grill the the cote de porc on Sunday when everything is closed.  In fact, it wasn’t until Sunday morning, while I was making the pear and tomato salsa, that I thought of the gas situation.  Trifling, as my mother used to say, just trifling.

IMG_6874b

So that’s why we had a mixture of inferior quality, pan fried,  chorizo and Toulouse sausages for lunch on Sunday.  Okay but not stellar.

IMG_6903b

The baguette was gummy too because the normal baguette shop was closed 😦   Good thing M. Parret was in deep country at his daughter’s house for Father’s Day, so that I was spared his nonconstructive criticism.

IMG_6914b

On Monday, when I had a gas bottle, I was a little concerned if my Trotoux roast should off flame grill straight up or on it’s side.  When it fell down, this ceased to be a concern and shouldn’t have been in the first place.  Sometimes I’m ridiculous.  After all, I’m not a chef, who cares 😀

IMG_6950b

This was outrageously good!  Make it and don’t stint on the marinade/glaze.

Pork Rib Roast with Pear and Tomato Salsa

1 8 rib pork roast, gently poked all over with a fork

1/2 cup grainy mustard

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup melted butter

1-2 tbsp rosemary, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

For the salsa

3 pears, peeled, cored and diced

1 shallot, chopped

1 large tomato, pulp and seeds removed, diced

1 handful each mint and cilantro leaves, chopped

1 long green, mild chilli, seeds removed and chopped

1/4 cup lime juice

1 tbsp sugar

Mix the mustard, honey, butter, rosemary and garlic together, then brush all over the roast. Grill off flame at 375 -400 F, top down, basting with leftover mustard mixture every 30 minutes.  At the end, dump the remaining marinade over the top of the roast and continue to grill for about 5 minutes.

For the salsa, mix all ingredients together and refrigerate.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Trifling

  1. tomculpa says:

    That all looks fantastic, I need to get back over to France!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a beautiful rib – I can imagine much disappointment in having to wait until Monday for it.
    You’ve reminded me of the summer in Paris, where the favourite local baker shuts for the holidays. He/she puts a note in the window with an address of the next nearest baker. As August progresses all the bakers start to close and if you can find one that’s open at all, it sells the worst baguettes in the world 😉

  3. Reblogged this on Foodfhonebook and commented:
    Very nice
    Foodfhonebook

  4. Dear good lord that looks good. Really good!

  5. That does look very good indeed….

  6. simplemorsel says:

    This made my stomach growl! I promptly added a pork rib roast onto my grocery list.

  7. Candida says:

    “Sometimes I’m ridiculous. After all, I’m not a chef, who cares” – I can totally relate to that feeling, sometimes it’s so easy to get bogged down in the details for no good reason. And in the end it looks amazing! So juicy in the first picture that I thought it was lamb.

Leave a Reply

