Smoked Salmon Pate

IMG_6853b

M. Parret showed me something interesting about butter; I had just bought a new batch of butter but had a small piece of leftover butter from the last batch still in the butter dish.   He pointed out that because of the cows’ diet, winter butter is paler than summer butter when the cows are eating a lot of greenery.  Huh.  I wonder if that’s true in other places…. Anyway.

IMG_6769b

Jamie has an interesting recipe for smoked mackerel pate on his web magazine.  The ‘monger didn’t have any smoke mackerel, so I took some of his always excellent saumon fume a la ficelle (salmon smoked on a string) to make the pate.

IMG_6820b

Doesn’t this look like a picnic table in France?  Because it is 😀

IMG_6806b

This pate is very easy to make and the cress salad was tasty and refreshing.

IMG_6842b

Smoked Salmon Pate

1lb of smoked salmon, cut into cubes

Leaves from 1 small bunch of parsley

1 tsp grated lemon zest

Juice from 1 lemon

1 cup cream cheese

2 cups cress

2 stalks celery, thinly sliced plus leaves

In a food processor, chop the salmon, then add half of the parsley leaves, zest, lemon juice, cream cheese and continue to process until smooth.

Toss together the cress, the other half of the parsley leaves, the celery and it’s leaves. Dress with your favorite vinaigrette and serve with country bread slices.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, English, fish, Food and Wine, Hors d'oeuvres, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Smoked Salmon Pate

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like delicious pâté – I’ve had the mackerel version and can imagine how good it tastes with salmon.
    M. Parret is absolutely right about butter and in turn the cow’s diet affects the creaminess of milk and cheese. Jeffrey Steingarten (in It Must Have Been Something I Ate) went to great lengths to obtain some Parmesan which contained a high percentage of butterfat, relative to what the cows were eating at the time of year.

  2. Gary Lum says:

    Wow, that looks fantastic. Low carbohydrate too 😀

  3. gingy55 says:

    What a delectable spread. I think I need to work with this soon myself. Thanks for the butter tip & then Mad Dog’s info on milk & cheese. However, please pardon my ignorance, I’d like to know what cress is, a green maybe?
    Great visual & read. Thanks!

  4. Nice dish. I make mine the same minus the cress but with the addition of fresh dill. And capers and a little finely chopped onion on the side.

  5. jaz says:

    i must make this soon! this looks wonderful. thanks for the recipe! i think the butter is much like the difference between fresh eggs and store bought ones. free range chicken eggs always have such darker yolks.

  6. Gorgeous recipe – a perfect summery dish. And clever old M. Parrt. I think I am a little bit in love with him 😉

  7. Parret – je m’excuse!

  8. reggiorif says:

    Sounds & looks simply great!

  9. What a beautiful looking spread (pardon the pun!) – I have been meaning to try the Jamie version but I must admit, I think yours sounds even better.

  10. Perfect! And pinning it. I’m always surprised at how yellow the butter can be with grass fed cows. Such a difference.

  11. Trish says:

    In Little House in the Big Woods, Laura Ingalls Wilder describes how her mother would color the butter in winter with carrot juice. I think now we Americans demand uniformly colored butter. Sigh. I love the idea of the butter looking different depending on what the cows were eating. Like honey tasting different depending on where the bees are getting their nectar.

  12. I love your photography and this looks absolutely divine. I will be sure to make it.

  13. wheelie38 says:

    I love smoked Salmon and really love the sound of this Paté…. I’m going to pin and share on twitter… and make lol.

  14. Adriana says:

    We do a lot of fishing, and smoked salmon is a yearly tradition. Pate is hands down one of my favorite ways to use it.
    If you’ve never tried it – substitute the lemon juice for pickle juice (I add a little finely chopped pickle as well). You’ll love it!:)

  15. Pingback: Paleo No Cook Dinner Recipes

Leave a Reply

