Travers de Porc Laque

IMG_6756b

My husband and daughter are coming next week.  So excited.  They would probably like to eat ribs and potato salad.  So why did I make it today?  I don’t know.  I’m old 😀  Anyway, I have more ribs in the freezer.

IMG_6742b

The French travers de porc cut is not really a rib cut a l’American, more like pork belly with ribs on the bottom.  Meaty.  Succulent.  I first treated the pork old school by rubbing with dried rosemary and garlic powder before roasting for 1 hour in the oven.  This is a good method if you want to do ahead.  They can last in the refrigerator overnight like this and be finished in the oven or on the grill with the glaze.

IMG_6703b

My yellow mustard is in the garage  along with my pimentos and because I couldn’t be bothered, I didn’t make authentic Texas potato salad but another potato salad using roasted peppers and Dijon mustard.  Different but still good.

IMG_6727b

Travers de Porc Laque

1 large travers de porc or 2 baby back slabs

Dried rosemary

Garlic powder

1/4 cup tamari soy sauce

1/4 cup mirin

1 tbsp sake

1 1/2 tbsp honey

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

Rub the ribs on both sides with rosemary and garlic powder.  Roast in a 325 F oven for 1 hour, fat side up.

Bring the soy sauce, mirin, sake, honey and ginger to a boil, then remove from flame. Brush both sides of the roasted ribs with the glaze and return to the oven for 15 minutes, turn, brush again and return to the oven for another 15 minutes.  Turn, brush and return to the oven for the final 15 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Travers de Porc Laque

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent, especially with the exotic potato salad 😉

  2. That looks so delicious! Yum!

  3. Cecile says:

    Delicious!! You know, I used to buy that cut of pork when we lived in Malta. Isn’t it tender and delicious!!? I used to make my own barbeque sauce to go along with it ’cause I’d never seen barbeque sauce in Malta. My husband used to love eating them !! Have a wonderful time with your family!!

  4. Oh fabulous. I can see why it was hard to wait until your family came home to make this! And how wonderful for you that your husband and daughter are coming. 🙂

  5. Rather like the pork ribs in Spain, and I’m sure you can be persuaded to make it again. Hope they travel and arrive safely!

  6. Ooh, those ribs look beautiful! I live in the UK and have been waiting, optimistically for a sunny weekend when we can BBQ. On that day, I will be giving these a go!

  7. nice dish, wow. have you see my new recipes here.. Tom

  8. Worth a go I would say! Very nice my friend.

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    If that is what you mean by ‘ordinary’, exotic must be amazing altogether.

  10. Pingback: Links I love 21.06.15 | Breathe Eat Love

Leave a Reply

