Vaguely Indian

IMG_6692b

I wanted to eat fresh peas.  Why?  Because it’s time and they’re in the market.  It’s always such a quandary; should I eat them plain with just some lardons and shallots? A carbonara with lardons, fresh pasta and cream?  Lamb stew?  This was too hard!  Best thing to do is just to start cooking while trawling the pantry and refrigerator.  That’s the way my mother did it!

IMG_6660b

I had 1/2 onion, and a piece of tomato in the refrigerator, along with 2 whole tomatoes. There were about a cup of les noirmoutiers from the other day and about 3 normal, new potatoes.  On a visit to the apple farm, Noslon, I saw some bizarre meatballs called cooked “boulettes de viande” containing potatoes, spices, herbs and beef.  “Why not”?, I said to myself out of boredom and bought them.  The texture was terrine-like.

IMG_6664b

Since it was pretty much established that there would be potatoes involved, and a known fact that a combination of peas and potatoes can equal Indian curry, and not being anywhere close to an Asian of any type, thus having no face to save, I set aside some ginger, garlic and spices.  Voila!  Pass the chapatis.

IMG_6673b

You can substitute any kind of cooked meat for the boulettes or none.

Vaguely Indian Stew with Fresh Peas

3 generous tbsp butter

1/2 onion, diced

4 garlic cloves, slivered

1 inch ginger, grated

1 tbsp cumin seeds

1 tbsp mustard seeds

2 large tomatoes, chopped

2 tsp tumeric

1 tbsp dried coriander

1 tsp piment d’espelette

3/4 – 1 lb new potatoes, coarsely cubed

2 cups cooked meat, coarsely cubed

1 cup water

2 cups fresh, shelled peas

1 handful coriander and parsley, chopped

Salt

Melt the butter in a large skillet and add the onion, garlic, ginger, cumin and mustard. Saute until the onion is soft and lightly browned.  Add the tomatoes and continue to cook, stirring occasionally, for 15 minutes.  Stir in the tumeric, coriander, piment d’espelette, potatoes, meat and water, then cover and cook for another 15 minutes.  Stir in the peas, herbs and salt to taste, then continue to cook until the potatoes are soft.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Indian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Vaguely Indian

  1. This looks so delicious – and it’s perfect for me ’cause I usually ‘cook for one’. So I’ll add in whatever I have left-over as far as meat. Great recipe!! ; o )

  2. jmcheney says:

    I cook like your Mom, from what a professor friend calls fridge finds, The Archives. Will concoct my version this very soir! Merci beaucoup for the inspiration!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    It looks and sounds very tasty. Octopus is good slow cooked with peas, if you like that kind of thing 😉

  4. Good use of what you had on hand. Very nice my friend

  5. That’s a nice idea…I don’t think anyone can cook Indian food unless they are Indian, so vaguely Indian is good:)

  6. I love this recipe. Good job.
    It is really great post and thanks for write down for us.

  7. Nicely done, Rosemary!

  8. Lovely – I always feel my curries are vaguely Indian as I am not from anywhere near that continent…!

  9. Abhay Verma says:

    Sounds very nice…..

  10. desikritika says:

    Good job..

Leave a Reply

