Les Haricots

IMG_6420b

I saw a blog earlier about beans posted by Marinating Online that set off a chain of thought; the fresh beans that will be available in autumn, my mother’s Mexican chili beans, the paucity of pantry items.

Rummaging around in the cabinets, I discovered that I did not have a stock of canned white beans, in fact all I had was a jar that said “les haricots rouge”.  They were not kidney beans, which I do not prefer, but some random French beans, jarred locally.  Okay.  I also did not have a reserve of diced canned tomatoes.  Oh la, la!

However, “one monkey don’t stop no show”.  I rummaged around in the refrigerator and found 4 mushrooms, a green pepper, and some exhausted cherry tomatoes.  To these I added ground veal, an onion, garlic and some tomato coulis from a carton, chili powder, cumin, oregano, salt and pepper. Good to go.  And look!  M. Parret’s dinner “gouter”.

IMG_6403b

I’m sure he’ll add an entree of charcuterie, salad after the beans, cheese, some of his flan he always has on hand and coffee with a drop of the local whiskey.  What can you say? He’s still alive and looks good 🙂

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Les Haricots

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I think M. Parret has a better appetite than me (and that’s saying something), though he’s got a good chef at present 😉

  2. jmcheney says:

    Il a un bon coup de fourchette! The 2 of you are Formidable!

  3. Chic Beat says:

    This looks fantastic and seems easy to make. Thanks for the foo inspiration 🙂
    https://chicbeatblog.wordpress.com

  4. Yum! I agree with you on the kidney beans; they’re just a bit too toothsome for my taste.

  5. That man has eating sorted!!
    Nice beans my friend 👌

Leave a Reply

