Petit Sale with Puy Lentils

IMG_6021b

Someone gave M. Parret a good quality, smoked morteau sausage but he wasn’t quite sure how to prepare it.  I thought it would be a good idea to cook it in a casserole with lentils.  I took the above photo before the casserole went on the flame with broth.  M. Parret threw on a random bunch of herbs for the photo shoot.  Thanks.

IMG_5983b

I could have cooked the sausage with just the vegetables and lentils but while browsing at Le Village Gourmand, I decided to add some more pork; echine and poitrine (pork shoulder and belly).  I think it would have been better if the shoulder had been salted but it was still good.

IMG_5996b

I’ve always liked cutting up vegetables.  I guess it’s because I was my mother’s “coupe oignon” from the time she thought it was safe for me to hold a knife.  And clever woman that she was, she always praised me for my indispensable contribution to the meal.  So that’s why 😉

IMG_6007b

Nobody wants to eat in the house anymore since I bought the little picnic table, even though the sunlight can be brutal.  Still, we’re having a high ole time!  I can’t wait until Jade and my husband arrive.

IMG_6033b

My posts are backed up.  I hope I remember the recipe correctly, this was very good 🙂

IMG_6047b

Petit Sale with Puy Lentils

1 lb piece pork shoulder, salted if possible

1 inch slab smoked bacon

1 large smoked morteau sausage

1 bouquet garni

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, cut into eighths

1/2 large red pepper, diced

2 garlic cloves, slivered

4-5 small carrots, diced

4 cloves

1 thyme sprig

2 fresh bay leaves

1 lb Puy lentils

Place the pork shoulder and bacon in a pot with the bouquet garni, cover with water and simmer for about 45 minutes.  Add the morteau and continue to simmer for 15 minutes. Remove the meats from the pot, cut into bite size chunks and set aside, reserving the broth.

Saute the onion, pepper, garlic cloves and carrots in the olive oil until the onion is soft. Remove from flame and stir in the cloves, thyme and bay leaves.

In a large bowl, mix together the meat, vegetables and lentils, place in a stove top safe tajine, pour the reserved broth over all to cover, bring to a boil, cover with tajine top and simmer for 40-45 minutes.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Petit Sale with Puy Lentils

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That looks delicious – I wish I was living on your street 😉

  2. Peachy_Tales says:

    Yum love Puy Lentils 😀

  3. It does look very, very good indeed. And I love that M. Parret came to you as he didn’t know what to do with the morteau! One day you’lll go outside and find a bunch of us sitting at your picnic table waiting to see what’s for lunch….we’ll bring our own cutlery if it helps!

  4. OOOOOOOOOOO that looks good I love that sort of marriage of vegetables, meats & lentils.

  5. Very nice. Looks incredible.

  6. Ketty says:

    That looks delicious – I absolutely adore puy lentils.

  7. Reblogged this on Foodfhonebook and commented:
    Love this

  8. Very nice my friend. I love this dish!

Leave a Reply

