Les Bonnottes de Noirmoutier

IMG_5816b

A few days ago I was at someone’s house and accidentally looked at French TV.  There was a news special about France’s most expensive potato at 6.50 Euro per kilo,  Les Bonnottes de Noirmoutier.  They only cultivate 100 tons per year.

IMG_5800b

Okay, you know I’m game and not easily outraged when it comes to quality food, although I did stutter a bit when I found out they were selling these gourmet potatoes in our Sens farmers’ market at 9.90 Euros per kilo!  In West Africa they always blame highway robbery on the transportation fees.  That must be the case with these potatoes.  After all, Noirmoutier is an island of the Vendee department, about 6 hours away; probably boats, trains and trucks are involved.  Still, maybe I should have Roger mail them to me next time.

IMG_5739b

Today is Friday, one of the big market days.  After a protracted coffee seance at Le Litteraire this morning, I swung by the market for the good stuff, including fresh peas and new carrots.

IMG_5755b

I laugh in the face of frozen peas and carrots.  HA HA HA.

IMG_5786b

What I really wanted was Toulouse sausages but I didn’t find them.  What I did find were some artisanal sausages from Le Village Gourmand and they were exceptional as are all of their products.

IMG_5767b

Now all I needed was serious eaters.  Ah-ha, there’s one right in front of the house!  Isn’t he cute when he’s impatient 😀

IMG_5806b

I love to prepare food for those who like to eat it!

IMG_5833b

No poking at the food like there’s an odd, suspicious object on the plate, but instead workman-like fork to mouth action!

IMG_5828b

So what did we think of the potatoes?  They were good, but so are the potatoes from Le Parret’s garden and those are free  😉

IMG_5850b

Pan Fried New Potatoes

1 lb new potatoes, sliced in half

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

Salt

Pepper

Melt the butter in the olive oil and pan fry the potatoes until brown, crisp on the outside and tender on the inside.  Season with salt and pepper.

Fresh Peas and Carrots

1/2 cup lardons or diced bacon

4 spring onions, thinly slice

1 tbsp butter

4-5 young carrots, diced

3 cups fresh peas, about 2 lbs of unshelled peas

Salt and pepper

Brown and crisp the lardons in a skillet, then add the onions and continue to cook until the onions are soft.  Stir in the butter and set aside.

Boil the carrots in water to just cover for about 5 minutes, then add the peas and continue to cook for another 3 minutes.  Drain, stir in the onions and lardons, then season with salt and pepper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Les Bonnottes de Noirmoutier

  1. Darya says:

    Oh I do love Bonnottes from Noirmoutiers ! I usually get them once a year, in a little wooden box, at 5-6 euros a kilo (I wouldn’t have got them for as much as what you paid)! They are also hand picked, which might be another explanation for their price. Your dish looks delicious and the pictures are wonderful.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Very interesting – I’d like to compare those posh spuds to the Jersey Royals (from the island of jersey) that we buy in the UK, though they are nowhere as expensive. Perhaps Roger has tried both and can comment…
    Those are lovely looking sausages – I got some nice Napoli sausages from the butcher today, along with a duck breast – the discussion on cassoulet has subliminally pointed me in that sort of direction…
    I’m still waiting for fresh peas and broad beans from the farmer – he’s had lovely asparagus the last couple of weeks 😉

  3. antolomagico says:

    Too expensive for me!

  4. jmcheney says:

    Are your pets all settled in & happy with their French cuisine? J’espere.

  5. jaz says:

    that is a meal i could dig into! we get such excellent potatoes here for next to nothing. i can’t imagine paying that much for any potato. we are really lucky because not only do we get wonderful potatoes, we get a huge variety of them too. i live in sausage country too and get wonderful ones. you are SO happy to be back in france!

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Rosemary, life has pulled me away from time on the blogs of late. I am delighted to see you back where you belong. I would be growing my own too.

  7. Trish says:

    I love the French respect for food. and I love that someone can be a diplomaed cheesemonger.

  8. The potatoes look yummy, but as you said — highway robbery. It sounds like such a lovely market. Enjoyed this post a lot. Hugs!

  9. FatCowFood says:

    For school I did a presentation on Les Bonnottes…I’ve always had a strange obsession with potatoes. Not in even like a culinary way. I just like to talk about them a lot – for no apparent reason haha Love your ingredients picture, looks so fresh and delicious. I am dying for farmer’s markets to start in June, where I live!

  10. You’d LOVE to cook for me as I love my food! In Spain “Boniato” is a type of sweet potato – I wonder if they are related to your posh spuds? Love the look of those sausages almost as much as I love the look on M. Parret’s little face 🙂

  11. Great to see you back in France, Rosemary!! I’m sure the Bonnottes were delicious, but to my mind nothing can beat freshly dug potatoes – I’m waiting for mine to grow big enough to pull out a few “babies”. Infanticide perhaps, but…

  12. Nadia says:

    Nothing like a simple and fresh meal, you cannot go wrong with a great sausage, fresh veggies and those cute potatoes. Looks very inviting!

  13. Beautiful provincial cooking here. Great flavours from fresh local produce. Nice

  14. Pingback: Vaguely Indian | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

