M. Parret’s Pork Roast

IMG_5528b

I was doing so much whining about the flavor and quality of food in the U.S. that I thought that maybe I was exaggerating.  No, I was right 🙂  There is more “natural” flavor in the meat, vegetables, eggs and especially the butter in France.  This country style lunch of roasted pork and garden vegetables made that fact very clear!

IMG_5495b

When M.  Parret commented on my substantial weight loss over the last 8 months, I told him that it was because there was nothing to eat or drink in the U.S. and he agreed 😀

IMG_5443b

These crunchy baguettes called “les craquantes” are a treat, spread with a thick layer of butter and accompanied by fresh, juicy radishes and goose rillettes.

IMG_5450b

I missed this tablecloth.  What are we going to do when it’s completely worn out?!  It just won’t be the same.

IMG_5512b

I made a cauliflower casserole with lardons, scallions and cheese.  It was okay but not stellar.

IMG_5430b

Of course we ate and drank the whole day in the traditional manner  😉  It was also nice to be at a table again where no one was texting and a phone call would have been considered an intrusion.

IMG_5462b

Of course there was a cheese tray with an exceptional, perfectly ripe Camembert.  I was just able to get this picture before the tray was snatched away.  Notice the French “fingers in the photo” picture.

IMG_5540b

Ignoring the admonishing glare from the old French guy, I combined my salad course with that of the cheese course and was happier for it.  You’d think he’d learn 🙂

IMG_5555b

Le Parret made his “creme” and an apple tarte.  I did mention that it seemed he was not getting his tarte dough from the same boulangerie and that this new supplier’s dough seemed less buttery.   When he admitted it, I laughed.   But in a good way 😀

IMG_5573b

The tarte was wonderful, no matter how much I teased him 🙂

IMG_5583b

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cheese, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to M. Parret’s Pork Roast

  1. Mad Dog says:

    What a feast! I’m so glad M. Parret is on hand to stop you wasting away 😉

  2. Funny how, when you live in France you don’t always think of it that way! I can actually crave Italian food and will assure you that Italian Gelato is better then French… yes even Berthillon…;-). never content…but after reading you I will put more thought into my daily food contentness!

  3. jaz says:

    i am really enjoying you being back in france too! though, the cheese made me sad that i am not there with you. okay…so maybe i missed this but do you live all the time in france and just go to pennsylvania to visit?

  4. Nadia says:

    Looks like a perfect way to spend the day. I have just recently joined your blog. Can you tell me who M. Parret is?

    • M. Parret, along with his wife Gilberte was a diplomaed cheesemonger before he retired. His background is Swiss but he has been in France since the second world war. He is one of the first people we met when we bought the house in France and he has been a good friend to us, watching our house when we’re absent and teaching us about wine, cheese and traditional French food.

  5. MELewis says:

    Losing weight is usually a good thing…but not for those reasons. 😉 Glad to see you enjoying a bit of French cooking to fatten you up!

  6. Le repas est délicieux. It all looks amazing. How nice for you to be back where the ingredients are amazing!

  7. gingy55 says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post. I’m all American, having never experienced your cuisine. You make it enticing! In my opinion my cooking is exceptional, tasty & desired by many. Love your photos, and yes, the lovely tablecloth.

    • Thank you Gingy. I too am all American. My beef is not with American cuisine, per se, but with the quality of our ingredients that are many times adulterated with high fructose corn syrup, hormones, chemicals and God knows what else. I’m sure your food is wonderful but you should also try other cuisines and, as I have done, adapt them to your own rhythm and add a little American pizzazz

  8. I agree with you! And it is still getting worse. Even those with little money used to be able to buy quality, basic ingredients and were able to save by staying away from specialty items. That’s not the case any longer. There’s crappy butter for those on a budget and expensive butter for those that can afford the good stuff.

    The other day I picked up some whipping cream and it wasn’t until I was home I realized it wasn’t really whipping cream – it was a weak cream fortified with cornstarch to make it seem thicker than it was…

    • We are so totally in accord. It’s not even the “good” stuff but normal/quality butter. They have made it expensive to buy what used to be the norm and are selling us reduced/low fat, chemicals added to milk products and other basic ingredients while calling it healthy. Shopping in the U.S. is like crossing a minefield; nothing is what it seems and the unhappiness of peering suspiciously at every label and finding that you indeed have reason to be suspicious is bad for my morale.

      The “whipping cream” sounds dis-gusting!

      • I usually look at most of the labels and always have but I rarely buy anything premade. And you’re right – it’s a minefield and exhausting. You never know what indignity will be foisted on us next, here in the US.

        • It’s not only the premade. Try buying rice vinegar and finding that it’s not made of rice or cranberry juice that has very little, if any, cranberry in it, extra virgin olive oil that’s not, honey that came from no bee you’ve heard of. The list is endless and it is appalling that we have allowed big business in the name of profit to abuse us in this way. Why the upsurge of obesity, diabetes, allergies and other weird diseases? It’s the food or food like products. Bleah!

          • Oh, you’re preaching to the choir, believe me! But don’t forget what we do to animals and vegetables! How about lettuce in plastic bags that looks good for weeks – but open one and the stench rolls out! People buy those bags and eat it all the time and it costs MORE than walking 10 feet over and buying the fresher stuff.

            Alright, I have insomnia and this is the stuff of nightmares for me! I think I better say Adieu, and enjoy your time there! 🙂

  9. Sơn says:

    Enjoy your day so good 🙂

  10. I was thinking maybe I should spend some time in the States to lose weight but then I thought….heck no…bring on the good food! Lovely to see you dining so well 🙂

  11. I’ve missed your M. Parret posts!! I really enjoy reading, gazing at the photos and dreaming that I lived in Europe once again! I ‘grew’ so much during the years I lived there and learned so much. I’ll make one comment which kind of ‘says it all’ about what the Food Industry has done to the food we ingest here in the States. Years ago I started seeing that chicken was starting to taste like wet tissues… And it’s only gotten worse. I know they inject water and salt into ham… and I know they do the same thing to turkey meat… so I suppose they also do that to chicken. (I won’t even start on the ‘antibiotics & pesticides etc. etc. etc.)

  12. Schnippelboy says:

    eine schöne blaue Keramik Kasserole

Leave a Reply

