Grilled Aussie Lamb Rack with Turnip Puree

IMG_5169b

At one point, they were having a run on Australian lamb at Wegman’s and of course I grabbed more than I could use immediately.  Good thing too because there is none to be found nowadays anywhere!  They do have some tasteless and ridiculously expensive U.S.A. lamb at $7.85  per lb that caused other shoppers to stare at me as I loudly laughed in a derisive and rude manner 😀

IMG_5077b

Whenever there is lamb to be cooked, I automatically think of herbs.  The window over the sink is full of potted herbs, so I grabbed some, thinking of Scarborough Fair 🙂

IMG_5104b

Herbs, garlic and olive oil.  You can’t go wrong.

IMG_5127b

The grill is back!

IMG_5150b

Gratuitous Judy Collins.

Grilled Lamb Rack with Herbs

2 racks of good lamb, fat side scored

1 handful each parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme

4-5 garlic cloves

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

Make a paste of the herbs, garlic, salt, pepper and olive oil in a food processor, then spread on the lamb.  Let sit for 30 minutes while you fire up the gas grill.

Preheat the grill with all burners on high until the temperature is about 500 F.  Sear the racks on the fat side and the bottom, then turn off half the burners, placing the racks fat side up on the cold side of the grill.  Close the cover and grill for 20-30 minutes.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Grilled Aussie Lamb Rack with Turnip Puree

  1. kathysimmons says:

    A huge YUM combo. Loved the turnip puree!!! And the perfect rose color. Yep Rose, Ozzie lamb ;D and maybe thrown in French (especially spring) lamb. American lamb not ba-a-a-a-d, just NOT the same.

  2. Thank you Kathy. I was talking to chef friend the other day and we discussed American lamb and meat in general, agreeing that the problem was taste, in that American lamb/meats lack that je ne sais quoi “natural” flavor of normally raised animals 😀

    • kathysimmons says:

      Our first posting in PNG taught me about flavor. The day my tastebuds “woke up.” Have never forgotten that day. Pork, chicken all of a sudden had FLAVOR. Then there were the old Germans curing that delicious pork, my mouth waters as I type. Imagine?

  3. Scarborough Fair…that’s funny. These photo’s are gorgeous Rosemary. I’m interested in the turnip puree too. Just saw some nice looking baby turnips at the market the other day.

  4. Barbara says:

    I know nothing about how lamb is supposed to taste, but we had some from Wegmans once and couldn’t eat it. What would be a good cut for a beginner?

  5. Mad Dog says:

    That looks delicious and a perfect colour 😉

  6. MELewis says:

    Judy Collins was one of my favorite singers back in the day….a nice trip down memory lane. And that lamb looks mouth-watering! Am not a huge fan of French lamb, way too strong tasting, but those herbs are a great idea.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    I remember Scarborough Fair first time round. Funny, back then it would not have made me think of cooking some lamb. Nice rack, if you will excuse the expression Rosemary.

  8. Doing the Aussie lamb proud there. It’s one of my faves for sure 👍

  9. FatCowFood says:

    Fresh ingredients and some nice meat always ends in joy! Ooh, and I love Judy – Both Sides Now is my favorite of hers 🙂

  10. I love lamb and yours looks amazing!!!! I need to get a grill!

  11. Turnip puree – what a great accompaniment to grilled lamb! I just love lamb and am always thrilled when I find someone else who enjoys it, also. Looks wonderful!

  12. I can just hear that derisive laugh!! 🙂

  13. Karen says:

    Turnip puree seems to go especially nice with lamb. Those two lamb lacks look great.

  14. planetsiku says:

    Tiene un aspecto impresionante.
    ¡Y con puré de nabo! Jamás hubiera pensado en hacerlo. Me encanta. ¡Me lo anoto!
    https://croqueteandoo.wordpress.com/

  15. Tiene un aspecto impresionante.
    ¡Y con puré de nabo! Jamás hubiera pensado en hacerlo. Me encanta. ¡Me lo anoto!
    https://croqueteandoo.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

