Spicy Lamb and Vegetable Stir Fry

IMG_4965b

Aubergine is one of my favorite vegetables.  I found these small, Sicilian aubergine at the Price Chopper market during an old, retired people’s “balade” in Matamoras, P.A.  My husband and I go on rides when, although there’s plenty to do at the house, we don’t want to do it.  It’s carefree, aimless driving through very pretty landscapes of forest, rivers and streams.  Pennsylvania is beautiful.

IMG_4920b

Of course I had no idea what I was going to do with the aubergine but that doesn’t matter, it’s the shopping that counts, says Rosemary the non-frugal 🙂

IMG_4953b

I browned the aubergine, stir fried some ground lamb and added leftover squash and black bean garlic sauce with hefty tablespoons of red chilli sauce and mirin for sweetness.  I served this over fresh udon noodles.  Et voila!

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spicy Lamb and Vegetable Stir Fry

  1. jmcheney says:

    Rosemary, you sound as world weary as I feel, & I haven’t traveled the world as much as you have, & am not imminently off to France <[:~( — but still you manage to find & concoct food that sounds & looks good enough for me to bestir myself a little. Merci a vous for that! I'm looking forward to your posts in Sens & with M. Parette again. J.

  2. Thank you J. I’m just U.S. food weary. I’ll be fine in a couple of weeks 😀

  3. Mad Dog says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing you back in Sens with M. Parret too, but in the meantime your aubergine and lamb sounds delicious 😉

  4. I want to go to the market not the supermarket and, in the French method, press and finger every single veg/fruit before I buy it, while nonchalantly holding up the line because it’s my turn. Can’t wait 😀

  5. Love how you served this on fresh udon noodles. Sounds delicious!

  6. I often buy ingredients not knowing where they’re going 😉 – gorgeous aubergines, incidentally…

  7. verywellfed says:

    I love lamb. Drooling on my desk at work!

  8. Cecile says:

    Will you be going be going back to France soon – and how long will you stay? I love how you put everything together and came up with such an excellent dish! Do you have trouble finding lamb in your area of PA – I’d have to go to a butcher shop and even then I.m not sure I’d find it. PS I’m so glad you like Pennsylvania – I do as well. We’re having a bit of a problem at the moment with the water/well pump at our Pocono house. Once that’s taken care of… I plan to head out (with my two parakeets.. who have a VERY BIG cage) to hang out at the Pocono House !!!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    A lovely combination Rosemary. I used both in a recent curry and it was sublime. Love the photo of the dish. Delicious!
    Conor

Leave a Reply

