Blackened Teriyaki Salmon with Roasted Asparagus

IMG_4849b

Today is both our children’s birthdays.  Jade, who is still at home, is 18 years old today and I wanted to be sure she had something she would appreciate when she got home from school.

IMG_4790b

She likes fish and all manner of vegetables which makes it a delight to cook for her. Unfortunately, the only salmon I could find was farm raised (the reason we haven’t been eating a lot of that) but the skin was on, it’s asparagus season now and I knew she would be pleased 🙂

IMG_4752b

To give Germany some respect, something I don’t often do, they have marvelous asparagus!  These asparagus came from California and were fresh, tender and tasty.

IMG_4764b

This is a quick and easy recipe for asparagus I’ve used before with a mixture of white and green asparagus.  Always good.

IMG_4808b

Just when I had gotten over my horror about fake honey in the supermarkets, I read an article about fake extra virgin olive oils in the supermarkets, most of them with Italian names!  The article suggested that one would be safer using olive oils from California.

IMG_4775b

Whatever.

IMG_4805b

I think there’s not many people you know who have an authentic Chairman Mao plate from the People’s Republic of China.  I picked up this sweetheart on a visit to Beijing back in the day.  Refusing to sign up for organized tours, our steps were dogged by a succession of young men who kept trying to engage us in political discussions.  After about the third day, they abandoned us, probably bored to tears with our food and drink obsession 😀

The blackening of the salmon was an accident but still good 😉

Oven Roasted Asparagus with Pine Nuts and Tomatoes

1 lb asparagus, trimmed

2 garlic cloves, thinly slivered

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

2 tbsp pine nuts

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tbsp lemon juice

3 tbsp olive oil

Mix all ingredients together, then pour into a roasting pan.  Roast at 425 F for 20 minutes, stirring half way.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Blackened Teriyaki Salmon with Roasted Asparagus

  1. I’d be happy if someone prepared that for me! Birthday greetings to your children – how clever of you to have them on the same dates…my mum only managed a two day (and three year) gap with me and my brother!

  2. I love salmon and this looks delicious. thanks for sharing!

  3. Aero says:

    Looks So Good!!!! 🙂

  4. sabine says:

    Our German asparagus, mostly white, is very good indeed – the season is about to begin here, and I ´m looking forward to many asparagus dishes. – Your daughter had a happy birthday meal coming home from school, it seems!

  5. Michelle says:

    Happy birthday to all! And what a plate!

  6. Gerlinde says:

    I’m enjoying asparagus here in California but I would love to get some white asparagus. You prepared a gorgeous meal for your daughter.

  7. Cryptologica says:

    Ooooh that looks so delicious! ❤ 😀 Do you make your own teriyaki sauce?

  8. Yum yum yum! Love salmon and this looks like a great combo

  9. The blackened salmon looked excellent and certainly intended…you should have kept quiet! Love that Mao plate:)

  10. Belated happy birthday wishes to the kids. Delicious looking dish! Hugs.

  11. Mad Dog says:

    I agree with Roger, I thought you’d intentionally blackened the salmon on the barbecue. Great asparagus recipe too. I”m jealous it won’t be out her for a month. Happy birthdays all round 🙂

  12. Reblogged this on Foodfhonebook and commented:
    Great Recipe

  13. Karen says:

    I can’t wait to give you asparagus a try, I’ve never thought to add pine nuts.

  14. Cecile says:

    I’m really ‘into’ salmon lately – and luckily the grocery chain I frequent has both ‘farm-raised’ and ‘wild caught’. As always – this looks delicious! Looking forward to trying it !! And how is the weather in your area of Pennsylvania. Do you still have snow in your yard? Sadly, I do… but I’m hoping the bit of rain we have will ‘wash it all away’ !! ; o )

  15. What a great birthday meal. Love the story behind the plate.

  16. Conor Bofin says:

    I want that plate.

  17. SImply damn delicious!!!
    one of my fave salmon preparation…

  18. wow nice,…..
    i like it

  19. Yum! That looks amazing.
    I might have to try this on my journey to discovering how to appreciate food again:
    hurryupimhungry.wordpress.com

  20. Salomé says:

    looks so good 🙂

Leave a Reply

