Butter Roasted Chicken Elbows with Spinach

IMG_4158b

What I really wanted today was “baby beef” liver or boudin noir or veal sweetbreads or lamb kidneys, of which I had none.  Les abats or offal are tricky things and I’m “offaly” selective when it comes to freshness and source.

IMG_4085b

What I did have was a big bag of frozen chicken elbows.  There’s no telling when I bought them but they did come from Super Duper.  The elbows were huge, not from any spring chickens but probably from old, worn out, granny layers.  I resolved immediately to roast them longer than usual 😉

IMG_4086b

I made a quick stir fry of shallots, baby spinach and “lose” mushrooms from the Chinese store in New Jersey.  I’ve never heard of lose mushrooms before but they resembled portobellos with dark, wide striations on the cap.  I refuse to think of this as a misspelling of “loose”  but to assume that the mushrooms are a rare, exotic variety of Asian, voodoo fungi.

IMG_4145b

In the event that an iron deficient vegetarian stops by and decides to sample the spinach recipe, I sprinkled some of Frugal’s pumpkin seeds on top for a protein boost because I care  ❤

IMG_4130b

And here’s the omnivore plate, because I care more 😀

IMG_4169b

Butter Roasted Chicken Elbows

2 – 2 1/2 lbs large chicken elbows, pointy thing removed

Choice of your favorite chicken rub ( I used our neighbor Caroline’s Smoked Spanish: cumin, paprika, dry mustard, fennel, black pepper and salt)

1 large knob of butter

Season the elbows with the rub.  Melt the butter in a roasting pan, then add the elbows, skin side down, and roast in a 400 F oven for 30 minutes.  Turn the elbows skin side up and continue to roast for another 30 minutes.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Butter Roasted Chicken Elbows with Spinach

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I like the sound of Spanish seasoning and elbows. If I was a vegetarian I think I’d want to carry a packed lunch around with me, but to be honest I wouldn’t last more than 5 minutes 😉

    • I think what you have to do is eat a lot of bread, potatoes, rice, couscous and pasta and end up looking like a Pillsbury dough boy in order to get that full, if not satisfied, feeling. Or, if you are among those lucky few who don’t care for food at all and just eat to live, vegetarianism shouldn’t be difficult 😀

  2. This may sound crazy, but I’ve never heard of chicken elbows. Can you provide a little more of an explanation? This recipe sounds really good and additional info would really help. Thanks!

  3. Utkarshini Khanna says:

    love it!

  4. Thats the way to do it. Nice work indeed!

  5. Good looking chicken, and even better looking pumpkin seeds ;). Thanks, Rosemary. And delicious food, as ever.

  6. lorita says:

    I will make it. Looks very tasty. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I’ve never heard them called elbows…isn’t it wings? Christ, American is a difficult language:)

  8. Reblogged this on Mary's Country Kitchen and commented:
    I this looks really good. I love roasted chicken

  9. This looks really gourmet, yet it is a simple recipe to follow. Thanks for sharing this. I will have to try this myself 🙂

  10. Reblogged this on halalentreemuslimah and commented:
    This looks nice, aren’t they? Yummy..

Leave a Reply

