“So This Is Where She Makes Her Mistake”

IMG_3544b

In some classic literature novel there is a character who always says, “So this is where (he/she) makes (her/his) mistake.”  I think it was Mr. Wickfield in David Copperfield, but I’m not sure.  Still, it’s a quote I’ve always liked for some reason 🙂

IMG_3461b

Just before we made our last wine run to New Jersey, I saw a post on radish (daikon) cake for Chinese New Year.  I’m not really sure where I saw it but give me a shout out if it was your post.  I probably commented on it.  Anyway, I wanted to make it and picked up some items at the Asian market in New Jersey with this in mind, even though I didn’t have the recipe and therefore was not quite sure about the ingredients and quantities.

IMG_3474b

When I got back home, I was still not sure where I saw the recipe, so had to search the internet for any recipe for Chinese radish cake.  The one I found could be it but I think not. It was a good recipe but at first I thought I made my mistake with sausage, mushroom, bacon and shrimp overkill.

IMG_3486b

The real mistake was in the radish and flour quantities.  I should have had 3 radishes not 1 and then figured out what they meant by 8 oz; I think it was weight, not cup, because when I took a cup of flour out of the 16 oz bag, it was no where near half empty.

IMG_3497b

I did get the flour right for the amount of radish I had.  I used 1 1/2 cups of flour and that seemed to work.  I don’t have a kitchen scale yet (amazon.com) because the very nice digital one is in France.  Again, the quantity of flour and radish allowed me to fill only one pan instead of the two the recipe calls for and the “loaf” lost a lot of it’s smooth elegance, bearing a close resemblance to a Christmas fruit cake 😀

IMG_3568b

I’m not saying it wasn’t good, because it was.  It just wasn’t elegant, more like hearty 😀

IMG_3555b

Another thing.  I used fresh mushrooms instead of the dried because I could and they were very pretty in the store.

IMG_3448b

No recipe today.  Follow the link for the real thing.  Tomorrow we go to Vadim and Galina’s for lunch at their home on the Delaware river.  I’m taking the camera 😉

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Asian, Chinese, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “So This Is Where She Makes Her Mistake”

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’d go for taste over looks any day of the week 😉

  2. Not quite right, perhaps, but it does look filling and it’s hard to go wrong with the ingredients!

  3. That’s a crazy cake…not sure about that Chinese savoury/sweet bun thing…I’m getting too French. Loved your comment about the 8oz: I’m forever screaming “How in the fuck is a cup of flour different to a cup of sugar and why ? 🙂 “

  4. Karen says:

    Just catching up on all your interesting and tasty cooking you’ve been doing. You “mistake” may not have been correct but the ingredients certainly sound like a flavorful combination.

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    Keep making mistakes Rosemary. This reads and looks delicious. I favour flavour and heartiness every time.

  6. Michelle says:

    Interesting as a cake. I always put it in small tart pans, then pan fry after steaming. (And, for some reason, WordPress dropped my follow. Remedied!)

Leave a Reply

