Lady Fingers

IMG_3409b

When I was in New Jersey, I bought a pork belly at the Asian Market, thinking to make Shinae Robinson’s caramelized pork belly again.

IMG_3228b

And I did, but what I really wanted to make today was lady fingers/okra/gumbo.  That, and to use my new vegetable noodle making machine.  Roger’s going to love this 😀

IMG_3334b

You just stick the vegetable onto the machine and turn the handle.  I’m going to have so much fun with this 🙂  Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free people rejoice!  You can just eat the courgettes like this, in a salad or whatever you do AND it will be pretty!

IMG_3359b

Anyway.  Withered, meaning dry and shriveled.  Here’s the picture.

IMG_3245b

I found these sad ole things in the back of the refrigerator crisper and wondered if I should toss them and go to the store for regular scallions.  Nah, they cleaned up fine.

IMG_3257b

I need a bigger pantry and an Asian supply store located in Honesdale.  That way I need never worry about running out of Gekkeikan, the supreme Japanese sake.  Gold.  Or shichimi togarashi which must be in the Sens pantry  😦

IMG_3277b

Okra seems so southern U.S. to me or Nigerian.  However, it is widely used in both East Asian and Indian cuisine because they know what’s good 🙂

IMG_3296b

I wanted to sprinkle some shichimi togarashi on my cooked lady fingers but I didn’t have any.

IMG_3311b

Instead I used some of my neighbor Caroline’s Spanish Rub.  It worked out fine.

IMG_3294b

I mixed in the courgette noodles with fresh udon noodles and fried tofu for a spicy stir fry. Mah-velous!  Inspiration for the recipe here.

IMG_3384b

To be honest, I did have a problem with the caramelized pork belly and it was the same problem I had last time.  I must be an idiot because I didn’t learn.  Way too much pork fat ends up in the sauce when it is cooked in cubes in the tajine.

IMG_3426b

The last time this happened, I resolved to cook the pork belly whole on a rack to burn off some of the fat for the first hour, then cube it and continue with the recipe.  I recommend you do this even if I didn’t.

Lady Fingers

1lb okra, trimmed and sliced diagonally

1 tbsp peanut oil

2 tbsp sake

1 tsp sugar

2 tbsp soy sauce

Shichimi togarashi

Stir fry the okra on high in the hot peanut oil for 1 minute, add the sake and continue to stir fry for 1 minute,  Add the sugar and stir fry for 1 minute, then add the soy sauce and stir fry for 1 minute.

Sprinkle the okra with the shichimi before serving.

 

Spicy Udon with Courgette Noodles

1 tbsp sugar

3 tbsp chilli paste with garlic

2 tbsp lime juice

2-3 tbsp canned sweet red beans (yude adzuki)

2 tbsp soy sauce

3 single servings of fresh udon noodles

4 cups water

2 tbsp sesame oil

5 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

1 1/2 cups courgettes noodles or ribbons

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup fried tofu, cubed

Mix together the sugar, chilli paste, lime juice, beans and soy sauce, then stir until the sugar has dissolved.  Set aside.

Bring the water to a boil, then drop in the noodles and boil for 2-3 minutes.  Drain and set aside, reserving 1/2 cup of the cooking liquid.

Heat the sesame oil in a wok, then drop in the garlic and stir fry until aromatic.  Add the courgettes to the wok, season with the salt and stir fry for about 2 minutes.  Add the reserved noodles, water and chilli paste mixture to the wok, mixing well to heat.  Stir in the tofu and serve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Lady Fingers

  1. Mad Dog says:

    It sounds good to me, in spite of the fat. That’s a very fancy mandolin too 😉

  2. milkandbun says:

    What a cuty jar with rub! 🙂 Pork belly sounds always mouthwatering! 😀

  3. You’re on a roll this week – could eat this right now and I love the gadget!

  4. Glad you didn’t throw away the spring onions, Rosemary. They can almost always be rescued!

  5. You’re right….I’m mad for that little machine:)

  6. What a great idea to make courgette noodles. This dish looks great!

  7. Mary Frances says:

    What a healthy alternative to plain pasta! I’ll have to try it soon!

  8. What a great recipe. I love the idea of sneakily adding veggies using that processor, but I bet they taste delicious. Thanks for the tip with the pork belly. I recently made a green curry roast pork belly and had the same problem with excess rendered fat. Will definitely give this a shot next time 😉

  9. I love your new gadget – I want one badly!! 😀

  10. Reblogged this on Foodfhonebook and commented:
    Great Recipe

Leave a Reply

