Cabbage with Turmeric, Bacon and Tomatoes

 

IMG_3222bb

The vegetables in the refrigerator bins have been giving me accusatory looks for a while now.  It’s not like they’re people or anything, nor are they quite alive, just dying a slow ugly death in the refrigerator bin.  Not really into reality dramas, I’ve tried to ignore this because I don’t like cooking random vegetables just because they have that “it’s over” look. Still, compost heap-less, I had to do something.

IMG_3208b

Do tomatoes go with cabbage I asked myself.  Yes, I think so because people are always putting a tomato sauce on stuffed cabbage.  So that’s why.  I trimmed the blackened leaves from the cabbage, threw out the cherry tomatoes that had gasped their last, took out the wok and fished in the freezer for a chunk of my lardon like bacon.

It was good.  Vegetarians could eat this if it wasn’t for the bacon.  I think Uzbeks would like it too 😀

Cabbage with Turmeric, Bacon and Tomatoes

1/2 cup bacon, diced

3 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

1/4 small onion, thinly sliced

1 small cabbage, shredded

Salt and pepper

1 handful cherry tomatoes, halved

1 bay leaf

1/2 tsp turmeric

2 tbsp water

1 tbsp cider vinegar

Brown and crisp the bacon in a wok, then remove and set aside.  Remove all but 2 tbsp of the bacon fat, then add the garlic and onion, stir frying for a minute or two.  Add the cabbage, season with salt and pepper and continue to stir fry for 1 minute.  Add the tomatoes, bay leaf and turmeric, continuing to stir fry for about 2 minutes.  Finally, add the water, cover and steam for about 5 minutes.  Stir in the reserved bacon and vinegar and serve.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cabbage with Turmeric, Bacon and Tomatoes

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Mad Dogs would eat it too, but not without that nice looking piece of bacon 😉

  2. kristelfaye says:

    Today’s National Cabbage Day! Yay for a cabbage post!

  3. I love a nice, simple cabbage dish – this sounds wonderful, with a good use of spices.

  4. I love that you incorporated cabbage here. Not usually my favorite but I enjoy it combined with other things!
    Kari
    http://www.sweetteasweetie.com

  5. I just stir fried some cabbage with oyster sauce and sesame oil for a light lunch…I like the sound of your recipe very much indeed.

  6. A piece of that gorgeous looking lardon like bacon for me too please!

Leave a Reply

