Arriba! Arriba!

IMG_2561b

I follow Chica Andaluza’s blog because 1) she knows how to cook and 2) she knows how to eat.  Of course these are excellent reasons.  So that’s why.

IMG_2512b

Her latest “drool worthy” recipe is Morrete de Setas or mushrooms and potatoes, a tapas plate from Southern Spain.  It is so good, yet quick and easy to make.  I did go a little rogue with the recipe but I think it’s the kind of recipe that permits deviation.  Do visit her site at the link above for the original recipe.  As I have never visited Spain and don’t know much about Spanish cuisine preparation, I won’t confuse you with my rendition.

IMG_2496b

Still, knowing nothing about Spanish cuisine did not stop me from making my idea of Spanish chicken 😀  I mixed together chicken thighs, onions, bell pepper, garlic, oregano and olive oil, then threw everything into a tajine.  Fabuloso and colorful!

IMG_2523b

Ideally, I should have browned the thighs before mixing them in with the vegetables but I couldn’t be bothered because I was already satisfied from eating the plate of potatoes and mushrooms and it’s not absolutely necessary to brown the thighs unless you just want them browner 🙂

IMG_2535b

Mediterranean Chicken Tajine

6-8 chicken thighs, browned or not

1 1/2 bell pepper, cut into strips

2 onions, quartered

4-6 garlic cloves, slivered

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1 1/2 tsp dried oregano

5 fresh oregano sprigs

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup white wine

In a large bowl, mix the chicken, bell pepper, onions, garlic, salt, pepper, paprika, oregano(s) and olive oil together, then pour into a tajine.  Pour the white wine over everything, cover and roast in a 400F oven for 45 minutes, remove the cover and continue to roast for an additional 15 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Arriba! Arriba!

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    I love the way you do it ‘your way’. “My way or the highway.” I hear you think…

  2. I love that you went “your way” with it – and am so happy the recipe inspired you! Big Man is looking at your photos and smiling, saying “anda!” which roughly translates as “go for it” 🙂

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Not bad for a guess at Spanish cuisine – I’m sure Tanya will approve 😉

  4. Amanda says:

    Que rico! Chica’s recipe was fab and this one is just awesome too!

  5. gourmet.gourmand says:

    This look amazing! Love spanish food

Leave a Reply

