Twice Cooked Honey Roasted Duck Legs

IMG_2346b

I’ve found an Asian supply grocery!  It’s called Laos Asian Market.  Very old school with vegetables, fruits, rice and noodles scattered around the floor in boxes, multiple freezers and refrigerators, shelves bursting with condiments, flours, spices, tableware, baskets, chopsticks, etc.  Just what I was looking for!  And I absolutely adored the really, really old guy who, looking like a proximate observer if not escapee from the Cambodian killing fields, speaking perfect English but choosing to leave us to our shopping while he continued viewing his TV program in the back room, was consideration itself.  Perfect. Rural Pennsylvania has it’s moments 🙂

IMG_2247b

Of course I bought a ridiculous amount of stuff but was rational enough to remember that I had good quality, “gaver” duck legs in the freezer to cook.

IMG_2235b

I remembered a recipe for twice cooked duck legs that I thought was beyond good and decided to go with that.  The recipe gives you a nice crispy duck skin that you have to appreciate.

IMG_2313b

I love eggplant!  I love Asian prepared eggplant!  I just remembered the word for eggplant when I was in Bangladesh; brinjal.  Brinjal!  Sounds exciting 🙂  I gathered together the necessary to excite my Laotian brinjal.

IMG_2274b

Spicy and delicious.  I am convinced that, if you can get them, Asian eggplants are requisite when preparing Asian cuisine.  There’s something about the texture and perhaps the taste.

IMG_2288b

So glad I saw Frugal’s recipe for  ramen with pak choy.  That was my inspiration for buying and preparing this simple, easy dish of bok choy.  Thanks Frugal 🙂

IMG_2333b

Spicy Brinjal

1 tbsp peanut oil

3 Asian eggplant, cut into batons

1 tbsp sesame oil

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 inch fresh ginger, minced

2 scallions, thinly sliced

2 tbsp rice vinegar

2 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp sugar

Heat the peanut oil in a wok, then add the eggplant and stir fry until lightly browned. Push the eggplant to the side, add the sesame oil, garlic and ginger, stir frying until aromatic, toss with the eggplant and stir fry everything together for about a minute.  Add the vinegar, soy sauce and sugar, stir fry for an additional minute.

 

Asian Style Baby Bok Choy with Broth

2 tbsp peanut oil

2 star anise

3 scallions, diagonally sliced

6 baby bok choy, halved

2 tbsp soy sauce

1/2 cup beef broth

1 tbsp honey

Heat the oil in a wok, then add the star anise, scallions and bok choy.  Stir fry for 2-3 minutes, then add the soy sauce, broth and honey.  Boil covered for about 2 minutes until the sauce thickens.

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Twice Cooked Honey Roasted Duck Legs

  1. Wow. I’ve never eaten duck legs before and this recipe sounds so yummy

  2. paleovirtus says:

    I love our local Asian shops, but they are a bit dangerous – I could go home with a dump truck full every time I call in!

    For the absolute essentials of life, like tea, coconut oil, and fish sauce, they can’t be beat… 🙂

  3. Mad Dog says:

    They sound great, but if you find too much good stuff you won’t want to go back to France… 😉

  4. I love shops like that – when I head to London to vist my parents we pass an enormous Asian supermarket….I tend to go a bit mad in there! Your freezer would not be your freezer if there weren’t a couple of duck legs in there ; Gorgeous dish and those eggplants/aubergines look amazing.

  5. These are the best legs I’ve seen today.

  6. I love those old school Asian supermarkets – i always walk out with a ton of shit. Its fun to grab something you’ve never used before and don’t even know what it is, and see what you can do with it!

    That duck just looks effing brilliant. Thats all 😄

  7. These are my favorite<3
    ww.sillycrazylove.com

  8. Diane says:

    perfect! I’m going to be moving to another state next week, and needed something special to cook for the last meal I’ll make before I pack up my batterie de cuisine. the duck and bok choy, with a noodle dish alongside (do you have one you recommend?) will be perfect! already scouted out my duck legs; getting ready to go pick them up shortly. thank you!

  9. Looks great thanks for sharing!

  10. jaz says:

    these look wonderful. my husband loves duck. i am lucky to have wonderful asian markets here. i always plant ichibon eggplants in my garden. they grow like weeds and we can’t eat enough of them.

  11. My pleasure. It all looks wonderful – looks like you found some excellent ingredients!

  12. That duck looks so, so good:)

  13. Conor Bofin says:

    Really delicious Rosemary. You could have been describing the Asia Market in Dublin. I love going to it.

  14. InBusiness24 says:

    Wow, what to say beside the fact that all the recipes are very well presented, the photos and the results are great. Good job!

Leave a Reply

