Things Fall Apart

IMG_2098b

I actually made this black eyed pea/potato/meatball stew the day before yesterday but was so disgusted with the whole thing that I couldn’t be bothered to post it.  I decided to post today because I was bored and the pictures were on the camera.

IMG_2087b

I was really excited when I saw the containers of fresh black eyed peas in the Weiss supermarket, even though the expiration date was that day.  Expiration dates are guidelines; they don’t mean that the product will immediately go into a meltdown or turn toxic the very next day.  Although I did have a friend who believed that and when we were in Niger, where certain products were scarce,  I would hang around her house waiting for something to expire so that she would give it to me instead of throwing it away 😀

The package instructions for cooking the fresh peas said 20 minutes but I’ve cooked fresh beans a lot and I thought it would be more like 40 minutes.  Still, at 20 minutes I checked, at 40 minutes I checked, at 70 minutes I checked and again at 100 minutes I checked, finally giving up and regretting the the good vegetables, spices and meatballs that I had included with the still crunchy black eyed peas.

So that’s why.  No recipe.  No glory.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Things Fall Apart

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’ve got some disappointing dried ones in a jar in the kitchen. I cooked them for 12 minutes in the pressure cooker and then added them to a casserole and they cooked for several hours with meat and vegetables. The result OK but not what I’d hoped. You’d think that fresh ones would be quicker and I don’t think the expiry date would affect cooking time. I cooked my recipe again substituting black beans and was much happier 😉

    • The fresh ones are quicker Dog! I don’t know what happened but I’ll use the dried ones in the future. I know that you have to soak them overnight but after that, they work.

      • Mad Dog says:

        A one hour soak in boiling water is fine for all pulse with a pressure cooker 😉

        • I may have cooked beans in a pressure cooker before but I don’t remember it. I’m good with the old school overnight soak method. But fresh is supposed to be fresh, not needing a soak or the pressure cooker.

          • Mad Dog says:

            I’ve been cooking pulses in a pressure cooker for 35 years – do try it, it’s great and no overnight soak needed. You are absolutely right about fresh – they should have been quick. I think I just wanted my black eyed peas to have a softer, more fall apart texture when cooked – hence my disappointment 😉

            • And you’re right. That’s exactly the texture I thought mine would have, even if I had to cook them 5 or 10 minutes beyond the 40 minutes. They’ve ruined black eyed peas for me in the near future.

  2. paleovirtus says:

    We’ve all been there….

    Not that long ago I seriously overestimated the amount of tapioca flour I should have used as a thickening agent.

    The result was that the “thickener” became more of a coagulant, with the result that my beautiful Kung Pao chicken congealed into a Sichuan flavoured rugby ball… 😀

  3. Laura says:

    So sorry! I got fresh blackeyed peas at Whole Foods and cooked them up for New Year’s Day – indeed took about 40 minutes but they were lovely with ham hock and greens. I think you just got a really old, dry batch or something, do try again if they reappear next year!!

  4. Fresh beans and me do not get along.

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    Evil Eye Peas. That’s what they were.

  6. trixpin says:

    How boring for you. It’s so annoying when you put so much effort into creating such a lovely dish. I hope you’ll try it again with a new batch of peas (or some other more trustworthy beans!)

  7. Amber Thomas says:

    You should try it with lentils next time and add lots of spices, had some for my dinner before was a new twist on vegetable chilli. It’s DEVINE!! 😍👏

  8. a simple but tasteful dish. wonderful

  9. Kamal says:

    You have setup a new standard for the word patience 🙂

  10. aaiptc says:

    Hey!! Nice blog!! Can you please follow my blog please 🙂
    https://partybynight.wordpress.com

  11. Mary Frances says:

    Man, I agree with Kamal!!

Leave a Reply

