Australian Lamb

IMG_2061b

During the holidays, Wegmans had an incredible sale on lamb; refrigerated floor bins filled with legs and racks.  Good prices too.  Of course the sign just said “lamb.”

IMG_1963b

A tedious search of the packaging finally turned up, in some of the tiniest print I’ve ever seen, “product of Australia.”  Wouldn’t you know it!  They imported lamb but they imported the wrong one!   Apologies to foodisthebestshitever but everybody knows that if you’re importing lamb from way over in that direction, it should be from New Zealand! Boy howdy!  What’s wrong with our education system?!  Of course I bought a couple of packages to freeze.  Australia can’t be that far from New Zealand (I never was strong in geography) and after reading The Thorn Birds, I figured they would know more about raising and eating sheep than we do.  I was right 🙂

IMG_1943b

Quite a while ago I made a fabulous pork roast using a Jamie Oliver rub of garlic, rosemary and fennel seeds.  I thought this would be interesting for lamb also.  Jamie did say something about bashing this mixture around in a mortar to create a fine paste.  My suggestion is that if you don’t have a coffee grinder that is dedicated to the grinding of whole spices and herbs, buy one.  This will take the fuss and aggravation out of preparing Indian cuisine and Jamie Oliver’s innovative recipes.  Sometimes Jamie goes too far 🙂

IMG_1988b

Australian lamb is so good!  But of course you Australians know that  😉

IMG_2015b

I roasted some cauliflower, zucchini, mushrooms and shallots with olive oil and herbs. Couldn’t go wrong there, I’ve done it so many times 😀  Perfect with the lamb.

IMG_2000b

I thought I would try to make an attractive sandwich photo but I just wanted to eat it and couldn’t be bothered 😀

IMG_2084b

Fennel and Rosemary Roasted Lamb Leg

1 semi-boneless leg of lamb roast

Leaves from 2 sprigs of rosemary

3 heaping tbsps fennel seeds

3-4 garlic cloves

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

3 whole rosemary sprigs

Aggressively stab the roast all over with a large knife.  Grind the rosemary leaves, fennel seeds, garlic cloves, salt and pepper together and rub into the lamb.  Allow the lamb to rest for about 30 minutes.

Place the whole rosemary sprigs on the grill of a roasting pan and lay the roast on top. Preheat the oven to 425 F, then roast the lamb for 30 minutes.  Reduce the oven temperature to 350 F and continue to roast for an hour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Australian Lamb

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – I’m not sure I can taste much difference between Australian and New Zealand lamb myself, though the New Zealand is the more common of the two in Britain theses days. I think the principle is the same, they’ve worked at breeding tender, hardy sheep that take care of themselves until our dinner time. Yours looks good and blessed with my kind of pink inside 😉

  2. Jeanne says:

    That looks fantastic!

  3. sarahgiebens says:

    I can smell it! 😀 Lamb is my absolute favourite meat and yours looks so delicious!

  4. Well cooked and delicious. I’ll stick with my Welsh lamb though (think of the food miles). I think it’s illegal for me to get it from anywhere else as a Welshman.

  5. Love the reference to Thorn Birds! And a great idea to make a sandwich with the leftovers. 🙂

  6. My favourite, but my wife’s least favourite. Only one winner I’m afraid – I have to wait until we eat out normally. I do like NZ lamb, but inevitably it’s frozen to get to Europe, so I wonder how it would taste otherwise?? Welsh lamb is pretty similar I gather though; same climate. Looks delicious either way.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    The lamb looks dangerously rare. Just how it should be!
    Another lovely presentation, no matter from where the lamb came.

  8. Beautiful – love lamb! I love it pink but have recently been converted to slow cooking it till it falls off the bones as well. Yum 🙂

  9. cesslava says:

    Oh my God, that looks soooo delicious!!!

  10. cheergerm says:

    Born in New Zealand but have lived in Australia for most of my life. Aussie lamb is super but when we visit NZ, I do think there is a bit of a difference. The grass methinks? That’s my belief and I am sticking to it. Funny Thorn Birds reference.

Leave a Reply

