Panko Crab Cakes with Mango Salsa

IMG_1899b

Today I wanted to try a new crab cake recipe and found one I thought I would like; a crispy crab cake, not overloaded with filler and including panko bread crumbs.  Sounded good.

IMG_1924b

I had a can of hand-picked crab from China in the refrigerator that I found at the Super Duper.  Wegman’s also has canned crab but I haven’t been too impressed with them lately. Wegman’s can be great in the cities but I think that in smaller towns they must stock differently.

IMG_1870b

I like this canned crab because it looks white, clean and well picked.  Not a lot of claw meat, though.

IMG_1878b

So what’s my beef with this recipe?  The crab cakes fell apart.  I knew they would fall apart because when I read the recipe I didn’t think there was enough binder.  Of course I could have done something about this by at least adding another egg but I didn’t, lazily thinking that maybe I didn’t know everything 😉  Good, savory ingredient mix but they fell apart and I really hate that.  Still, you could try them anyway.  Recipe is at the link above.

IMG_1932b

The site served these cakes with a mango pineapple salsa but, no fan of pineapple, I went with one of my usual, normal mango salsas 😀

IMG_1846b

This recipe is good with fish, seafood or anything else you’d like to use it for.  I’m thinking wrapped in a tortilla with pork char sui slices 🙂

IMG_1865b

Mango Salsa

1 ripe mango, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 very small purple onion, chopped

1 fresh jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped

2 tbsp cilantro, chopped

Juice of one lime

Mix everything together and refrigerate until ready to use.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Panko Crab Cakes with Mango Salsa

  1. Mad Dog says:

    The crab cakes sound nice, but as you proved, not enough binder. I imagine they tasted good anyway. I might try them with a bit of mashed potato. Your mango salsa sounds much better than pineapple 😉

  2. i’ve only tried Panko once ( someone sent me a pack as we can’t buy them here) and I was sold on them. Nice shot:)

  3. They do sound delicious though!

  4. Excellent, Rosemary – they look superb. I’d love to cook with more crab, but it isn’t the most frugal ingredient out there. Perhaps I can work out a way to incorporate it…

    • Thank you Frugal. Make fish cakes which are just as good, buy one pretty crab claw, place it on the side of the plate with the fish cakes, take picture, eat crab claw first, then the fish cakes 😉

  5. I love crab cakes and regularly make them. Definitely have to try out your recipe next time – they look so crisp and delicious.

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Elegant and lovely bright photos. I appreciate them on a cold winter evening. Thanks Rosemary.

  7. cesslava says:

    All I can say is WOW!

  8. Mindy Moo says:

    You might find adding 1 tablespoon of ground chia seeds (mixed with 3 tablespoons of water) a great way to bind the mix without altering the flavour. I use chia seeds when I make fish cakes (I usually make heaps and freeze them). They hold together really well.

Leave a Reply

