Red Wine Braised Flanken Ribs

IMG_1801b

I’m in freezer trouble again and it’s a lot more serious than when I’m in Sens.  In Sens I have an extra refrigerator with freezer in the garage for spillover.  Here I have a fairly large, but apparently not large enough, French door refrigerator with freezer.  It’s not enough.  I’m going to have to cook the freezer for weeks!  I hate that.  On the other hand, there are duck breasts in there somewhere and Australian lamb ribs.  Ha, ha, ha  😀

IMG_1751b

I bought several packages of Angus beef flanken ribs from the German butcher quite a while ago.  I don’t know what I was thinking, because just one package is adequate for our family plus guests.  The two remaining are starting to look weary and vaguely freezer burned.  I thawed one of the packages and seasoned it with smoked paprika to cheer the ribs up, then browned them in olive oil to give that “age is just a number” look.

IMG_1768b

I kept it simple with onions, garlic, beef broth, red wine and fresh oregano, that being the only fresh herb remaining except for parsley.

IMG_1774b

Fluffy, butter mashed, “Irish” potatoes were all these fall-off-the-bone, tender ribs needed 🙂

IMG_1817b

 

Red Wine Braised Flanken Ribs

4 slabs beef flanken ribs, cut into individual ribs

Salt and pepper

Smoked paprika

Flour

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, halved and sliced

6 garlic cloves, slivered

5 sprigs of fresh oregano

1 can beef broth

1 cup red wine

Season the ribs with salt, pepper and paprika, dredge the ribs in the flour then, in an oven proof pan (Emile Henry Flame Top tajine is good), brown in the olive oil.  Remove and set aside.  Add the onion and garlic to the pan and cook until the onion is just soft, then add the ribs with the oregano and stir.  Stir the wine into the pan and boil for about 2-3 minutes,  then stir in the broth, bring to a boil, cover and roast in a 375 F oven for 1 1/2 hours.

Serve with fluffy, buttery mashed potatoes, no milk.  Or milk if you want 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Red Wine Braised Flanken Ribs

  1. Hells yeah!
    Age is just a number. I love it 🙂

  2. Karista says:

    Oh Wow! I’m eating my humble dish of tuna while reading your post and drooling all over my computer.

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely Rosemary. I am suffering from the ‘age is just a number look’ too. I intend on suffering from it for a while yet.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    They look delicious – I’m sure you need a second freezer 😉

  5. jaz says:

    same here. i keep thinking i need another freezer but then that would end up stuffed too. tomorrow i am cleaning out the freezer and donating it to the free store. then i bet i will stuff it full again!

  6. Laura says:

    This looks perfect for our cool nights in Miami! You have motivated me to try flanken ribs, a cut I have not tried. On your freezer overload, given what I see on the TV, perhaps just use the back deck until the spring thaw ? 🙂

  7. Michelle says:

    Order that freezer! (Mmmm, the ribs look delicious.)

  8. The more space we have, the more we hoard…yuo could be dangerous! These look perfect for the cold wintery weather we have here 🙂

  9. Sounds rich and tempting – just my kind of food. I think I might try and use a new cut this weekend. Certainly never tried these before.

  10. reggiorif says:

    This is a recipe to make people happy! Gotta find me some beef flanken ribs 😉

  11. This looks absolutely delicious and I bet the meat just fell away from the bone. Never heard of flanken ribs before. Is that an American cut of meat?

    • Flanken I believe is a German word and the cut is widely used in Jewish cuisine. I have bought this cut in Germany and got these in the post from a German butcher here in Honesdale, Pennsylvania. I also bullied a butcher in France to make this cut for me 🙂

  12. Red wine takes slow cooked beef to a whole new level! Mmmmm!

Leave a Reply

