Lamb Shanks with Pappardelle Pasta

IMG_1539b

Some of the best lamb shanks I’ve ever eaten were at The Cathedral Restaurant in Sens, France.  Of course this was when the Cathedral was cooking everything fresh from the market.  Unfortunately, at least for the past 2 years, most of their ingredients come from a frozen restaurant supply company and you can taste it.  Now when in Sens, I buy my shanks in the market and prepare them at home and you can taste that too 🙂

IMG_1553b

Out of fresh eggs, on Saturday I went over to the Cooperage on Main Street.  The cooperage is a community center that houses a winter farmers market on Saturdays.  I knew that the Quails R Us Plus people would be in attendance and I could get eggs and whatever else caught my eye.  Like lovely Quails R Us lamb shanks.

IMG_1440b

Whenever I think about cooking lamb, I think about fresh herbs.  The cold weather has reduced my fresh herb supply to rosemary, oregano and an outrageous parsley plant that would require a shot of DDT just to thin it out!  Really.

IMG_1451b

A while back Steve DeVeau, the bathroom guy and retired professional chef, gifted me with some home made, herb flavored tomato sauce from his roma, Big Boy and Sun Sugar cherry garden tomatoes.  I decided to go with that and some applewood smoked tomato pappardelle from Northern Farmhouse Pasta.  Both the pasta and sauce were exceptional!

IMG_1476b

I sauteed up a fragrant mix of onion, garlic, shallots and herbs.  I love this!

IMG_1488b

Added wine, tomato sauce, chicken broth and some diced tomatoes, then poured all over the browned lamb shanks in a tajine.

IMG_1508b

Easy and delicious.

Lamb Shanks with Pappardelle Pasta

4 lamb shanks

Salt and pepper

Flour

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, halved and thinly sliced

1 large shallot, chopped

4 garlic cloves, chopped

4 fresh oregano sprigs leaves

1 rosemary sprig leaves

6 fresh parsley sprigs leaves

10 ounces red wine

2 cups tomato sauce with herbs

1 can diced tomatoes

12 ounces chicken broth

Pappardelle pasta, cooked

Season the lamb shanks with salt and pepper, then dust with flour and brown on all sides in a large skillet.  Remove and place in the bottom of a tajine.

Add the onion, shallots and garlic to the skillet and cook until the onion is soft.  Add the oregano, rosemary, parsley and cook for one minute.  Add the wine and boil for 5 minutes. Add the tomato sauce and tomatoes and simmer for 2 minutes.  Finally add the broth, bring to a boil, then simmer for 5 minutes.  Pour the sauce over the top of the shanks in the tajine, cover and roast in a 400 F oven for 1 – 1 1/2 hours.  Serve with the pappardelle.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Lamb Shanks with Pappardelle Pasta

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious – that’s a big tajine 😉

  2. platedujour says:

    Hmmm it looks fabulous 😍😍

  3. Gorgeous meat and gorgeous photos!

  4. Beautiful! And I am lusting after that tajine 😦

  5. Damn! You almost make me wish it was winter out here! I effing love a good lamb shank 🙂

  6. ElPobre says:

    Looks awesome! If we ever get any lamb shanks out here in the “sticks” I’ll try the recipe.

  7. Can’t remember the last time that I had lamb shanks.. you have so inspired me to go out and buy some to make this recipe! Looks delicious!

  8. chewoutloud says:

    That looks incredible! I’m super hungry just seeing these lamb shanks; you did an awesome job with it 🙂

  9. Beautiful, Rosemary – another excellent lamb dish. I must have some lamb soon.

  10. Very good indeed….we’ve got a parsley plant like yours…it laughs in the face of frost! Wishing you and yours a very happy new year:)

  11. Karen says:

    Love lamb shanks…the meat is so tender and flavorful. Yours look terrific.

  12. Keith says:

    Stunning recipe – I adore lamb shanks! Great idea to pair with the pappardelle.

  13. Conor Bofin says:

    Elegant as always Rosemary. I love shanks.

  14. Pamela says:

    Why isn’t there a Pinterest button?

  15. Jealous of the parsley plant! I can grow anything in the garden, get it in a pot and I’m great at killing it.

  16. Oh wow does that look fantastic. Happy New Year!

  17. ohh… should definitely go to Sens… 🙂

Leave a Reply

