Iron

IMG_0854b

One day my mother and father were having one of their infrequent spats.  My mother declared to my father that she was not made of iron.  He thought that was so hilarious that for the rest of his life “Iron” was his nickname for her.

IMG_0806b

I would really, really like some calf’s liver!  Baby beef liver will not do.  The liver should be pale pink, not dry and fresh.  Unfortunately I have not found that yet and I’m starting to feel weak from an iron deficiency.  That’s why I bought this farm grown kale and the oh so cute baby Japanese turnips.  Medicine.  Bacon is also nutritionally beneficial.  Protein.  Voila 😀

IMG_0819b

Hakurei turnips are delicious, both raw and cooked.  I should have bought more!

IMG_0830b

I’ve made this stir fry before using chard in both France and Germany.  It’s hard to say whether I prefer the kale or chard.  It doesn’t matter, they both are very good!

IMG_0841b

Kale and Hakurei Turnip Stir Fry

1/2 cup lardons or bacon cut into batons

1 tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 cup hakurei turnips, cubed

2-3 garlic cloves, chopped

2-3 cups kale leaves, chopped

1 bay leaf

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

2 tbsp water

Salt and pepper

Cook and brown the bacon in a wok until almost crisp.  Remove and set aside.  Take out all but 1 tablespoon of the bacon fat, then add the tablespoon of olive oil.

Add the turnips to the wok, stir frying until lightly browned.  Remove and set aside.  Add the kale leaves and stir fry until wilted.

Put the bacon and turnips back into the wok, add the bay leaf, vinegar, water, salt and pepper.  Steam for about 5 minutes until the kale is crisp tender.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Iron

  1. paleovirtus says:

    A root vegetable and bacon. You’ve got a triumph on your hands from there on in…

  2. Mad Dog says:

    You’ve reminded me that I haven’t had calf’s liver for a while, but I won’t have any trouble buying it so I hope you get lucky soon 😉

  3. Looks amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Delicious – and much more exciting than dried apricots which my mother tells me are packed full of iron and vitamin C!

  5. Roxanne T. says:

    haha! “medicine” indeed! love it ❤
    from your fellow blogger 😉

  6. Michelle says:

    Looks delicious! Have you heard this one? My grandmother would always say to me (and my siblings): “You could tear up an iron man.”

Leave a Reply

