Pennsylvania Louisiana Jamaican Meat Patties

IMG_0777b

Frustrated with trying to find decent eggs in the supermarket, we finally returned to Quails R-US Plus.  It’s really not that far from us and I don’t know what we were thinking because they have farm raised eggs, chickens, rabbits, lamb and goats.  Getting my Jamaican on, I decided to make some spicy Jamaican meat patties, inspired by Emeril Lagasse, using Quails R US Plus ground lamb and goat chorizo.  Why not?

IMG_0741b

This is the chorizo that I know; Mexican-like, stuffed raw into casings, to be cooked as a link or in bulk.  Spanish chorizo is new to me and good, but not what I think of when I think of chorizo.

IMG_0753b

This was a good mix for the patty stuffing.  The lamb was a bit strong with a kind of sheepish smell that made me wonder about the lamb age classification, but this was fine for this recipe.

IMG_0717b

I liked the Emeril mix of spices and aromatics, still next time I will add cinnamon for a more authentic Jamaican flavor. Everything smelled wonderful!

IMG_0767b

I cooled my filling down in a leftover, random snow pile because it was there and it pleased me to do so 🙂

Jamaican Meat Patties

3 cups all purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp tumeric

1 cup cold butter, cut into small pieces

3/4 cup cold water

1 tbsp white vinegar

1 large egg, whisked

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, finely chopped

4 large cloves garlic, finely chopped

2 inches fresh ginger, finely chopped

1lb ground goat meat

1 lb ground lamb

1/2 tsp ground tumeric

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

1 1/2 tsp ground Jamaican allspice

1 tsp ground cardamom

1 tsp dried thyme leaves

1 Scotch bonnet, seeded and finely chopped

6 scallions, finely chopped

2 sprigs fresh parsley, finely chopped

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can beef broth

Salt and pepper to taste

3 tbsp rum

1 egg whisked with 1/4 cup of water for an egg wash

Mix the flour, salt and tumeric together in a bowl, then place in a food processor with the butter and pulse until it resembles a coarse meal.  Add the water, vinegar and whisked egg, then continue to pulse until the dough forms a ball.  Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for about an hour.

Sweat the onion, garlic and ginger in the olive oil for about 5 minutes, then add the meats, tumeric, cumin, allspice, cardamon, thyme and scotch bonnet sauteing for about 10 minutes.

Add the scallions, parsley, tomatoes, broth, salt and pepper, bring to a boil and simmer until almost all the liquid has evaporated.  Add the rum and boil for about 1-2 minutes.  Remove from flame and cool.

Roll out the dough to about 1/8 inch thickness and cut into 6 inch circles.  Place about 2 tbsp of the meat filling on 1/2 of the circles, fold over, then seal the ends with a fork. Brush egg wash over the top, then bake on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper for about 25 minutes.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, Jamaican, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Pennsylvania Louisiana Jamaican Meat Patties

  1. Mad Dog says:

    They look great – you’ll be doing curry goat next (maybe)…
    There are lots of types of Spanish chorizo – hard cured ones, soft ones like yours and even blood chorizo. Ive never seen goat chorizo though, I’d like to try that 😉

  2. I need to try this, its like an Australian Meat pie. Looks delicious. There’s even soy chorizo

  3. Cecile says:

    For a few years now I’ve been thinking there exists… out there somewhere … some kind of ‘Food Blogger Consciousness’ because it happens often that I’ll be thinking, ‘I wish I had a recipe for ‘dah dah dah’ …. and the next thing I know, someone posts the recipe!! I had just been thinking of the wonderful small pies they sell in Australia or the ‘pasties’ they sell in Britain – and you’ve posted a wonderful recipe for Jamaican meat patties which I’d love to try… except I doubt I’ll find goat meat around here… so I’ll just substitute another type of meat.

  4. Amanda says:

    I love Jamaican meat patties! Yours are amazing. I love the chorizo you used. This looks seriously awesome.

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    Love the snow cooling. We can’t get goat inIreland. Patties look lovely.

  6. sabaribook says:

    Your patties look so light and delicious. I have to try this 🙂

  7. Those sound delicious – excellent recipe, Rosemary!

  8. alifemoment says:

    This is a delicious recipe love the ingredients, I will definitely try it! 🙂

  9. jaz says:

    these look so good! i love making meat pies!

  10. Michelle says:

    Aren’t industrial eggs the worst? Hooray for Quails R-US Plus!

  11. Beautiful looking patties! They look delicious!

  12. Very good idea it looks great !
    Please can you check our blog and post comments, it’s for a school project, thank you.

  13. Why not indeed?! I love patties and pasties and am curious to try goat chorizo one day.

  14. Serena says:

    Fabulous, though you are very mean…Here I sit, very hungry, and then you make me look at this delicious-looking offering. Not fair! 😉

  15. lovely recipe. Really tasty, thanks for sharing this.

    Simon

Leave a Reply

