“Have Some Rum, Mon”

IMG_0612b

Before Steve, our bathroom remodeler, decided to go for the big bucks he, a graduate of C.I.A., worked as a chef at Breezes Resort in Runaway Bay, Jamaica.  When he told me this, of course, I asked about Jamaican cuisine.  I have tasted Jamaican meat pies and once attended a very good lunch hosted by Jamaican friends, but have never attempted to make anything myself. We discussed Jamaican jerk rubs and the next day, he brought his own spice mix over for me to try.

IMG_2886b

Today I added rum, vinegar and olive oil to Steve’s spices, rubbed a spatchcocked chicken with the mixture, then put it in the refrigerator to mature overnight.  I remembered that the Jamaican friends served their meal with roti, a homemade flatbread and, not wanting to try two new things, decided to make Jamie’s Navajo flat bread to accompany the chicken, perhaps wrapping pieces of the jerked chicken inside of the bread.

IMG_0644b

But wait!  Wouldn’t that be kind of dry?  I needed a sauce, salsa or something.  Cranberry chutney to the rescue.  I made this chutney in Germany and it was a big hit with the family. With more enthusiasm than I’ve shown since coming to the States, I whipped up a batch of chutney, thinly sliced some leftover char sui pork, layered some on toast, topped it with chutney and handed samples to Steve and my husband.  Good.  I should make another batch to have on hand for the random open faced sandwich 🙂

IMG_0659b

As I was preparing to spatchcock the chicken, a chicken neck and assorted giblets tumbled out onto the counter, and that’s when I realized that it had been years since I bought a chicken that included the giblets and neck!  The French chicken butchers must keep those for themselves because you don’t get them unless you buy a specialty chicken like Bresse chicken.  Such riches!  Instinctively, I tossed the giblets and neck in a pot with water, carrots, celery, onion and bay leaf, then boiled.  After a decent period of time, I removed the meat from the neck bone, chopped the giblets and returned them to the pot along with a cup of orzo pasta.

IMG_0684b

Okay, tomorrow the chicken will be jerked and we shall take the measure of Steve’s Jamaican experience 🙂

Cranberry Chutney

2 tbsp olive oil

12 fresh sage leaves

2 purple onions, sliced into thin wedges

1 cup of cranraisins, soaked in hot water for 20 minutes and drained

1 cinnamon stick, broken in half

2-3 tbsp water

1 tsp fresh ginger, grated

3 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Flash fry the sage leaves in the olive oil, then remove and set aside.  Add the onions to the pan and saute for 5 minutes.  Add the cranraisins, cinnamon and water, then simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the ginger and vinegar, then cook for about 1 minute.  Serve warm or room temperature.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Jamaican, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to “Have Some Rum, Mon”

  1. kathysimmons says:

    this Is eating USA or France. YUM.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Yes please – I’ll have the rum and chicken. I get slightly peeved by the lack of giblets in chicken – they take them out and then sell them back to you separately! I’d be prepared to buy them whole with feathers if it meant keeping the giblets, especially the liver 😉

  3. Darya says:

    Hmm my butcher down the street prepares the chicken in front of me, first weighing it, then, removing any inedible parts, burning away any extra feathers, and always asking whether I want the giblets and hearts or not. If not, then he keeps them. Your rum chicken sounds delicious, I hope the result turns out as good as what you describe!

    • Sounds like a great butcher Darya. Stop in tomorrow to see how the chicken turns out. One never knows 😀

    • My butcher here in St Chinian does the same thing. I could even have the chicken feet, if I wanted them!! The last time the chicken feet went to a little old lady who happened to be in the shop at the same time – I was itching to ask what she was going to make with them, but then thought: “I wouldn’t do it anyhow…”.

  4. Serena says:

    This looks FANTASTIC!!! Wish I had some in front of me cause I’m hungry…

  5. Very nice! I make a fresh cranberry relish that is on the sweet side.This is lovely.

  6. Interesting use of the giblets! Nice photos too.

  7. yomna123 says:

    It’s a very wonderful ☺

  8. This looks so tasty and wonderful photos! 😊

  9. I just really effing like your style. All so damn nice 🙂

  10. So true about the giblets – when did they stop leaving them in for us to make lovely gravy? Love that so many dishes came out of one little inspiration of the conversation with the bathroom guy 🙂

Leave a Reply

