Roquette Pesto Fettuccine with Normal Duck Breast

IMG_0141b

So, so glad to have found the Hudson Valley duck farm!  Cooking with familiar, quality products makes for an enthusiastic, creative and happy time in the kitchen 🙂

IMG_0124b

What I really wanted for this pasta dish was fresh pappardelle, but the Wegman’s in Scranton only had fresh fettuccine and linguine.  Heck, I’ve got a Kitchenaid and just might have to use it to make fresh pappardelle but that seems a bit extreme 😀

IMG_0088b

I’ve made roquette (arugula) pesto many times but it seems I always forget how good it is. The roquette I find here in Pennsylvania seems to be a “drier” less tender variety but it works just fine.  In fact, I liked this batch better than the last one.  I spread some on bread to test and my husband, always willing to assist and always it seems in the kitchen, helped with that.

IMG_0116b

The duck breasts were meaty with a fine layer of fat that cooked up perfectly.  Duck sandwiches tomorrow, on Italian bread with garlic mayonnaise.

IMG_0151b

Roquette and Walnut Pesto Fettuccine

2 cups roquette

1/3 cup walnuts

1/4 cup basil

2 tbsp pine nuts

2 tsp parmesan, grated

2 large garlic cloves, chopped

1/2 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper

1lb fresh fettuccine, cooked according to package (about 3 minutes)

Chop the roquette, walnuts, basil, pine nuts, parmesan and garlic in a food processor.  With the motor running, pour in the oil in a thin stream until the mixture is smooth and incorporated.  Season with salt and pepper, then toss with the hot pasta.

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Roquette Pesto Fettuccine with Normal Duck Breast

  1. pepaulmier says:

    Sounds delicious, yum yumm!

  2. Cecile says:

    I haven’t been keeping up with the blogs I follow lately… but that’s going to change – starting right now! I see you mentioned Scranton – which isn’t very far away from our weekend home in Pocono Lake. Are you guys back for good or just for a while? I’m so glad you posted this recipe. I love roquette and it grows wild in Malta. I also love pesto, so I can’t wait to try this! And that duck looks simply delicious – enjoy those fabulous sandwiches !!

    • Thank you Cecile. That’s incredible that you have a house in the Poconos! My husband retired in August and we came to Honesdale to unpack decades of accumulated “things” from our travels, paint and repair the house and allow our daughter to finish high school in the U.S. We’ll be going to our home in Sens for her summer vacation.

      • Cecile says:

        At this point, after selling our farm in Quebec five years ago having ‘stuff’ from there… and having ‘stuff’ from our ‘flat’ in Malta… plus items from our travels (like you) plus decades of accumulating more ‘stuff’… I’ve never really unpacked everything here at My Yellow Farmhouse in Mass. I’m hoping to get a large bookcase built in my bedroom so I can unpack most of my books and perhaps display some of the ‘stuff’ from our travels, then maybe I’ll feel a bit more settled down. I don’t like this feeling of having things still in boxes… but, as you know, there’s only so much room for displaying ‘stuff’. My twin sons are grown & have their own homes, so some of the ‘international stuff’ has been given to them. And some of the things from the farm look really great at the Pocono house, such as a small collection of antique farm implements. My husband had collected a great deal of them and had them displayed inside the barn at our farm, but they ended up being sold as part of the farm. I think it’s “très cool” you now have a house in the Poconos and a house in France !!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That duck looks perfect and the pesto sounds good too 😉

  4. That duck looks anything but normal ! It looks amazing I love duck!

  5. Serena says:

    Glorious colors! I am absolutely full right now and yet I could still find a little room for this fab concoction.

  6. Very nicely cooked duck – good and rare, just how I like it.

  7. An absolutely perfect meal!

  8. milkandbun says:

    Bright and wonderful photos! I almost can feel amazing smell of the duck breast! You cooked it perfect! Can you share some duck recipes please? 🙂

  9. I love arugula pesto and this looks wonderful. Glad you found a good duck source! 🙂

  10. Conor Bofin says:

    Glorious looking Duck, rosemary.

Leave a Reply

