Butter Baked Chicken Thighs with Sauteed Red Cabbage

IMG_9940b

I always make butter baked chicken thighs because they are good and everyone is always pleased:  Salt, pepper, dust with flour, 1 tbsp butter melted in a roasting pan, bake skin side down for 25 minutes in a 425 F oven, turn, bake for 20 more minutes more.  Eat immediately.  You can eat it leaning over the pan without bothering to get a plate.  My husband does.  He’s retired 🙂

IMG_9894b

One of my new favorites is sauteed red/purple cabbage, lightly sweet and sour.  A pretty vegetable 🙂

IMG_9855b

I think this is a German recipe.  I know I did make it in Germany.

IMG_9892b

Anyway.

IMG_9964b

Sauteed Red Cabbage

1/2 cup diced bacon

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, halved and sliced

1 small head purple cabbage, shredded

3-4 sprigs thyme

1/3 cup white wine vinegar

1/4 -1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp dry mustard

Salt and pepper

Brown the bacon in a wok. Add the olive oil and the onion, then cook until the onion is soft. Add the cabbage and thyme, then stir fry for 3-4 minutes.

Mix the vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt and pepper together, stir into the cabbage, then cover and simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Butter Baked Chicken Thighs with Sauteed Red Cabbage

  1. Arielle Tan says:

    Wow it looks amazing!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That chicken looks great – I’m not retired so I guess I’ll have to use a plate 😉

  3. jz says:

    my kind of meal. i make these often and sometime make a mushroom sauce for them.

  4. So beautiful! I think simple recipes when done right like this are so often the best!

  5. milkandbun says:

    Wonderful dish! Especially for the cabbage-lovers! 🙂

  6. Chicken, butter, cabbage and bacon. That’s all the major food groups covered!! 😉

  7. firefly1275 says:

    Looks very delicious! Cabbage is my favorite! 🙂

  8. Michelle says:

    “I think this is a German recipe. I know I did make it in Germany.” You crack me up. 😉

  9. MixerUpper says:

    Rosemary, I made these chicken thighs for my husband a few nights ago. He went insane for them, and went so far as to say “this is the best chicken I’ve ever eaten” and “you have to promise to let that blogger know how much I love these!” Thought you should know. Thank you for sharing one of your Mom’s go to recipes.

Leave a Reply

