Fried Green Tomatoes and Country Style Ribs

IMG_9770b

After over 3 months of searching, my husband finally found the legs to my work desk in the linen closet carton.  We had both given them up as lost/left behind.  Now I’m hoping to organize my office with a photography table so that I can get away from the stainless steel glare of the enormous refrigerator in the kitchen and am hoping that Santa brings me an enormous white refrigerator for Christmas 🙂

IMG_9731b

I bought some lovely green tomatoes from the Scranton farmers’ market that reminded me of the fried green tomatoes with ripe tomato salsa I made in Sens, using green tomatoes from M. Parret’s garden.

IMG_9752b

I had some cherry tomatoes that I thought I would use for the salsa but they were a bit too squishy and more suitable for soup or stew.

IMG_9650b

After a quick run to the Super Duper market, I poured a glass of Champagne to celebrate finding these perfectly ripe and firm vine tomatoes.

IMG_9717b

The government liquor store does stock Veuve Clicquot and for that I thank them.  I do like Honesdale and the State of Pennsylvania, however all alcohol is sold and under the control of the state government, which means that a state civil servant is choosing the French, Italian and Spanish wines that are imported and sold in these stores. Apparently, 1) this man/woman is going to get an award for saving the government money on imported wines, 2) he/she doesn’t drink French wine probably because of a bad experience with the tractor of fine wines, Cote du Rhone, that is on the shelves, but has heard of Veuve Cliquot but won’t ever taste it because of the aforesaid experience and the $50 price tag.

IMG_9842b

Oh yeah.  The outside of the house is slooowly being repaired and painted.  The problem with that is that at 35 F and below, the paint will not dry.  We’ve already dipped below that several times and had teasing slow flurries.  The painters don’t seem to be worried 😞

IMG_9647b

Anyway, in addition to the tomatoes, I slow roasted some country style ribs.  This is not a cut of pork ribs I use often because they look as if they should be braised instead of grilled/roasted and are more solid meat than rib.  They are good, but I do not adore them 🙂

IMG_9781b

For dessert, Jade made a peach melba with sponge cake, butter pecan ice cream and strawberries.

IMG_9810b

Slow Roasted Country Style Pork Ribs

1 tbsp salt

1 tbsp dill seeds, crushed

1 tbsp sage leaves

1 tbsp fennel seeds, crushed

1 tbsp coriander powder

1 tbsp fresh rosemary leaves, chopped

1 tbsp Spanish paprika

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 tbsp dried shallots

5-6 country style pork ribs

Mix all the herbs and spices together, then rub onto the ribs.  Refrigerate overnight, then roast in a 300-325 F oven for 2 hours.

Fresh Ripe Tomato Salsa

3 ripe tomatoes, seeded and chopped

2 spring onion bulbs, finely chopped

1 large garlic clove, finely chopped

1 long, fresh, green chilli for babies (mild), seeded and chopped

1 handful cilantro leaves, chopped

1 tsp sugar

Juice from one lime

Salt and pepper

Mix all ingredients together and refrigerate until ready to use.

Fried Green Tomatoes

4-5 green tomatoes, thickly sliced

Salt and pepper

Flour

2 eggs, beaten

Bread crumbs

Peanut oil for deep frying

Season both sides of the tomato slices with salt and pepper, then dust with flour, dip in beaten egg and coat with bread crumbs.  Fry on both sides until golden.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Fried Green Tomatoes and Country Style Ribs

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I was looking at green tomatoes yesterday and thinking about frying some soon…
    If Santa is feeling generous, you can get a reflector with white on one side and gold on the other. I avoid silver as it’s a bit too cold. Big 4′ X 4′ and 8′ X 4′ pieces of white polyboard are exceptionally good too, but require a bit of space 😉

  2. deliciouscityliving says:

    This looks so good! And I totally understand the PA State Liquor Laws. It was hard for me to get used to when I moved from upstate New York to Philadelphia. Ah well…

  3. Damn Mrs Insens! That looks exactly like something that belongs in my belly… I need some fried green green tomatoes in my life quick smart!!

  4. I hope you get your fridge, Rosemary! I, on the other hand, hope you deliver a plate of this right to my door…

  5. AnotherDish says:

    Hi Rosemary — for the spice rub, is it smoked paprika? Dish looks great!

  6. Fried green tomatoes! Just what I was thinking what to do with my green tomato surplus. They look great with salsa and pork. I’ll do that, too. I’ve been taking photos of my food against my big silver refrigerator all this time. No wonder they’re no good. 😔

  7. cecilia says:

    I have never quite got the hang of fried green tomatoes.. i look forward to trying these. Hope you get your lovely house finished before the real cold hits.. and Jade’s dessert looks divine…c

  8. The cold feels pretty real to me right now, c.

  9. The house looks wonderful….the wine situation, not so wonderful…:)

  10. Fried green tomatoes, what a treat!

  11. Boots says:

    I love fried green tomatoes. I’ve never seen fried green tomatoes in restaurants when I lived in California. I live in Texas now so it is no longer is that strange 😄 I am following your blog btw. Great blog!

  12. Karen says:

    I love your home, it has so much character. Your meal looks good, I like that you added dill to your spice rub.

Leave a Reply

