Foie Gras, Magret and Duck Legs Sorted

IMG_9587b

My husband and I were discussing the ban on foie gras in California and wondered if it was banned in other States.  What California actually banned was the gavage or force feeding of birds.  I don’t believe that you can have “real”, quality foie gras without force feeding but I do understand the why of California, the State I grew up in;  California is filled to the brim with bleeding heart, tree hugging, liberal, vegetarians!  I, of course, escaped this subversive influence because my mother was from Texas 😉

IMG_9627b

Happily for us, according to the internet, foie gras is not banned in the other States.  In fact, right across the Delaware river in Ferndale, New York, not far from where my husband grew up, is the Hudson Valley Foie Gras and Duck Company, the proud producer of duck products from Mulard ducks, including foie gras, duck legs and duck breasts.

IMG_9364b

Despite a particularly virulent news article by Huffington Post, Hudson Valley Foie Gras unflinchingly practices gavage in order to to offer the American public French quality magret(duck breast) and foie gras.  Having nothing to hide, the company has an open door policy and will show a visitor anything they are interested in seeing, including gavage.

IMG_9336b

Since I have already seen gavage, and cage free ducks standing around in a large, clean shelter are pretty boring, I quickly moved on to the purpose of the visit; food buying.

IMG_9367b

Hudson Valley’s duck farm is not really a tourist destination.  It’s just a large compound with offices ( 3 of them for USDA personnel), a processing plant and duck sheds.  They raise the ducks, process them, package them, store them in refrigerators/freezers, then ship the finished product to restaurants, retail businesses and individuals.  I was a little disappointed that they did not have a cute, onsite store with t-shirts, coffee mugs, stuffed duck toys, porcelain figurines, etc, however they are more than happy to sell to walk in customers.  Still, a t-shirt would have been good, but I understand you can buy one at their online store.  😊

IMG_9381b

Frankly, after spending so much time eating duck in France, I didn’t know what to expect from an American duck farm.  M. Parret would have been pleased!  Everything looked “correct.”  I bought 16 portions of frozen foie gras scallops, 2 packages of magret and a hefty package of 6 duck legs in case of surprise visitors or a blizzard.

IMG_9527b

It was difficult to choose what to cook first but because I had some fresh borlotti beans in the freezer, I thought what the heck, might as well do a cassoulet.

IMG_9547b

This was a good choice because between trimming and browning the legs, I had quite a bit of rendered duck fat that I was able to pour in a jar and store in the refrigerator for future gastronomic events.

IMG_9559b

The duck was very, very good!  This was my first time eating a Mulard duck and while the flavor is discernibly different from the French Muscovy/Barbery duck, I am grateful to find such comparable quality on this side of the Atlantic.  Thank you M. Yanay and everyone at Hudson Valley Foie Gras!  Saved!

IMG_9622b

Now I need to find a reliable rabbit source!  My husband is threatening to load up his gun, but that’s okay because we live in Pennsylvania and it’s his constitutional right 🙂

Duck Cassoulet

3 large duck legs

Salt and pepper

1 1/2 cup smoked pork butt, diced

1 large onion, chopped

2 large tomatoes, coarsely chopped

1 bunch parsley, leaves chopped

1 bay leaf

1 tsp dried oregano

3 cups shelled fresh borlotti beans

2 cups chicken broth

Trim some of the excess fat from the duck legs and render the fat in a slow skillet, discard/give to the dog the browned pieces and pour the rendered fat into a jar.  Season the duck with salt and pepper, then brown in the same skillet, again pouring the fat rendered into the jar and setting the browned legs to the side.

Reintroduce 2 tbsp of rendered fat to the skillet, then lightly brown the diced pork.  Add the onion and continue to saute until the onion is soft.  Add the tomatoes, parsley, bay leaf, oregano, beans and chicken broth, bring to a boil, then pour all into the bottom of a tajine, top with the duck legs, cover and roast in a 400 F oven for 30 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350F and continue to roast for 1 hour.  Remove the cover and roast for a final 30 minutes.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Foie Gras, Magret and Duck Legs Sorted

  1. Arielle Tan says:

    Everything looks so delicious!! 3

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That’s interesting – I have a link on my foie gras post to “The Physiology of Foie: Why Foie Gras is Not Unethical” and they mention Hudson Valley and La Belle Farms. There are lots of pictures and video of feeding. Whilst one could say it’s force feeding, ducks and geese swallow large fish whole and don’t have a gag reflex like humans do. In the video they talk about the fact that the birds are sensitive and won’t eat if they are fed by a stranger, so the staff swap coats to maintain a smell that the ducks like. As I’m sure you know, migrating ducks and geese eat huge amounts in order to fly thousands of miles. The ancient Egyptians discovered that some of these birds literally gorge themselves to death without any human help.
    http://maddogtvdinners.wordpress.com/2010/12/23/foie-gras/
    I’m glad you found a good source for duck – I hope you find some good lamb too! I bet you freezer is happy 😉

    • I don’t think I’ll eat lamb in the States, it’s too disappointing. If I find some frozen New Zealand, okay, but otherwise I’ll wait until I go back to France in the Spring. I am so pleased about the duck! I’ve also found a place in Seattle that delivers fresh fish overnight that I want to try, Pike Place Fish https://www.pikeplacefish.com/. If I don’t get correct fish, I will seriously go into a decline 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    The Cassoulet sounds perfect! Delighted you found the farm … let me know if you want a source for overnighted fresh Alaskan salmon, I have one (in season).

  4. Amanda says:

    What a great dish and great post. I grew up in the Hudson Valley so I”m glad they’re doing something to help here. Cassoulet is so good. Beautiful recipe and photos.

  5. I seriously do not cook duck enough, you definitely have inspired me to go and buy some now!

  6. Karen says:

    It sounds like you are slowing finding sources for food ingredients that you like. Hopefully you will find a supplier of lamb that suits your taste before you head back to France.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    Great progress Rosemary. Lovely dish.

  8. So glad that you wrote about Hudson valley Mulard Duck and Foie Gras. We use it all of the time in our kitchen and love it! I also use a good Andouille sausage and pork belly in my cassoulet then top it with toasted bread crumbs mixed with a little melted butter and chopped flat leaf parsley then toasting it prior to serving.

  9. Michelle says:

    OK, now you’re making me really jealous. We get good duck (from NY) only sporadically from Whole Foods. There are a couple of farmers here raising it, but they haven’t quite gotten the hang of it, it seems. But we can get good lamb. And I bet if you keep trying you’ll find someone doing that well also.

Leave a Reply

