Rolled Rack of Lamb Roast

IMG_9489b

Thinking to give American lamb another try because I like lamb and American lamb is all that’s available, I went to the German butcher and purchased a pretty little rolled, boneless rack roast.

IMG_9408b

I gave it the usual olive oil, herbs and garlic treatment, using an enormous clove of the seemingly popular elephant garlic.  I’m not quite satisfied with the available garlic; it’s either small, dry, hard cloves or alien, enormous but juicy elephant garlic.  Sigh.

IMG_9425b

But the roast looked good and my hopes were high.  I brought out my green tajine and loaded it with baby potatoes, “baby-like” carrots, parsley and onions(I have lots of parsley).  I would have liked to add some whole shallots but they’re quite expensive and ugly.

IMG_9451b

If it wasn’t for the wind chill factor, this would remind me of spring.

IMG_9454b

Pretty tajine lamb roast, but yes, as tasteless as I remember.  I think I’m going into a decline 😀

IMG_9525b

Rolled Rack of Lamb Roast

2lb rolled rack of lamb roast

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tbsp fresh thyme, chopped

1 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1 lb potato fingerlings

1/2 lb “baby-like” carrots

2 small onions, quartered

1 handful parsley, chopped

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

Mix the teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of pepper, thyme, rosemary and olive oil together, stab the roast all over with a knife, then rub in the herb mixture.  Refrigerate overnight.

Mix the potatoes, carrots, onions, parsley, salt, pepper and olive oil together, then place on the bottom of a tajine or baking pan.

Place the marinated roast on top of the vegetables, then place in a 425 F oven for 30 minutes.  Reduce the temperature to 350 F, stir the vegetables, then return to the oven for 30-45 minutes.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Rolled Rack of Lamb Roast

  1. Mad Dog says:

    You did a fabulous job, so if it doesn’t taste great I’d imagine the lamb wasn’t fed right 😦 I can only suggest finding an independent sheep farmer or trying mutton which will have a stronger flavour. Mutton can be better than lamb if you can find it 😉

    • Thank you Dog. The German butcher gets the lamb from a local independent sheep farmer. American lamb just doesn’t have the taste of lamb from Europe/UK/New Zealand. I don’t like mutton. I won’t buy any more American lamb; it’s expensive and not worth it. I’ll try to find some goat. I think that will taste better.

  2. budsoftaste says:

    Yum! This looks so delicious! My first time trying lamb was at a Brazilian restaurant, and I absolutely loved it. Hopefully I can give this a try as well!

  3. jz says:

    have you tried jamison lamb yet?

  4. That’s one beautiful piece of lamb. I think I’m going to pick up some mutton on Friday. Can’t wait!

  5. Looks delicious. I’ve got into the habit of cutting slits in the lamb and sliding garlic cloves in, cut in half. It gives the lamb an extra “kick”; most French people I know do it. The only good lamb I’ve found in France is the leg of lamb sold by Aldi. Half the price of the one the butcher sells, and miles tastier. It doesn’t fit in with my logic of buying local, but I’m not spending a fortune on something I don’t enjoy.

    • Thank you Multi. My mother prepared her lamb with garlic slivers. I think you can do better than Aldi. Carrefour and Leclerc regularly have frozen New Zealand lamb legs and steaks on sale. I have often taken advantage of this tasty lamb.

  6. reggiorif says:

    Hard to imagine it looked tasteless… Sure it wasn’t for your cooking skills. Still, I’d love to try it. It looks really great!

  7. Aw. Damn shame on the taste factor. That looks well pretty.
    We’ve got some cracking lamb out here I could send over…
    🙂

  8. Your photos are making my mouth water just looking at them. The perfect supper for the cold rainy days here in Epsom. Emma.

  9. Geez that’s a shame you are having trouble getting decent lamb. Wonder what they are doing when they are raising it?

  10. What a shame that beautiful roast turned out to be tasteless. I’m amazed that there is such a difference in taste between American lamb and the rest, but you’re probably right about the feed :(. Just planted some lautrec garlic in my garden, not as though I can’t get it easily enough, but I thought I’d try to see if I could make it grow. Perhaps you could try growing your own too?

  11. Pingback: Tajine di agnello all’uva | La Caccavella

Leave a Reply

