Muffuletta in Honesdale

 

IMG_8582b

This was probably the best loaf of muffuletta bread I’ve made.  I don’t know how it happened.  Perhaps it was my disregard of rising times because I was too busy wandering around town and the Dyberry Cemetery behind the house.  Pardon the artificial light; my husband, Jade and Laura (old, old friend and house guest) rather churlishly refused to sit in the dark while I got the shots, and I refused to use automatic.

IMG_8569b

I would like to thank my ingredients; King Arthur bread flour, Morrell Snow Cap Lard and good old reliable Fleischmanns yeast.

IMG_8527b

Last but by no means least, I’d like to give all praises to my Pennsylvania Kitchenaid that I whined my husband into buying, even though I have one just like it in France.  Without this machine, you’d be looking at this sandwich on Wonderbread 😀  I do not knead nor do I need to.

IMG_8531b

No baker, I do love to see the miracle of rising dough.

IMG_8551b

Mah-velous.

IMG_8554b

For recipes

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Muffuletta in Honesdale

  1. Karista says:

    That is a beautiful muffuletta loaf! Those were one of my favorite sandwiches to eat while living in Louisiana years ago. I’m going to have to make this!

  2. Mary Frances says:

    This loaf really is a work of art. Amazing!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    The light’s not bad, at least the bread is illuminated.
    Your success could be down to the type of flour and water used – it does make a difference. I read a very interesting chapter in one of Jeffrey Steingarten’s books, where he was trying to replicate artisanal bread that he’d eaten in Rome – it proved quite difficult.
    That’s a nice looking loaf of bread – I bet it would go down well in New Orleans 🙂

  4. Nice bread but even nicer Kitchen Aid….one day, Roger, one day:)

  5. Magic. I need that in my life… Lucky I have a kitchenaid at my disposal!! Nice work 🙂

  6. Amanda says:

    Wow. This looks like the real McCoy! So impressive! It’s making me want to go to New Orleans right now! Well done!

Leave a Reply

