In Case of Famine

IMG_8360b

I always worry about not being able to find or not having enough of some cooking ingredient, spice or whatever.  Probably because I spent a lot of time in countries where this always happened.  So that’s why.

IMG_8357b

Olive Salad

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In Case of Famine

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’ve met people in France who have whole cellars filled with preserved vegetables, fish and duck. I think it’s fantastic and amazing, I’m even jealous, but I’m not entirely convinced that they ever eat it all 🙂

  2. I know exactly how you feel 🙂

  3. I’m always running out of spices…middle eastern stuff is not easy to find here…it’s the one thing that I always pick up on visits to London.

  4. I’m the same – but the particular spice I need always seems to be in Spain when I’m in England or vice versa!

  5. Trish says:

    my local grocery is fickle and tends to run out of things I have deemed as essential to my everyday existence, such as Cabot extra sharp cheddar cheese. So while I don’t hoard things I do tend to hoard some food items. Still weird, I know. They ran out of pickling salt in the middle of pickling season a few years ago! I took stock of my current pickling salt inventory, having adjusted my behavior after that disastrous event. I currently have enough for the zombie apocalypse. Oops.

  6. When I moved to Kentucky 20 years ago,I had to go to Louisville to get ingredients, often to the international and Italian stores. They are upgrading my local national-chain supermarket for the fifth time right now and I am able to get almost everything one could want…so what is my excuse for the hoarding I do???

  7. I actually kind of love doing that. Taking not so great, basic store ingredients and turning them into something seriously good. Always leaves a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

