Salmon, Zucchini and Sweet Potatoes

IMG_8040b

The wild salmon at the grocery store was all gone and all they had left was farm raised. The salmon from Canada had skin on, so I chose that.  The family has been whining for salmon for a couple of weeks and I didn’t want to disappoint them.  The reason I prefer the wild salmon is because U.S. farm raised fish seems to “taste like chicken” instead of fish.  Bland?

IMG_7966b

To be on the safe side, I decided on a flavorful mustard/lemon/honey marinade before planking the salmon on the grill.  I just happened to have several jars of Amora Dijon mustard tucked away in the pantry and a nice jar of local Honesdale, Pennsylvania honey. I couldn’t go wrong 🙂

IMG_7954b

I made enough marinade to add to the oven roasted sweet potatoes and onions.

IMG_7979b

Making these roasted vegetables that are a favorite of my friends in France made me miss them.  But in a good way 🙂

IMG_8003b

A new friend and a super neighbor gave me some pretty, little, pale green courgettes from the Scranton Farmers’ Market.  Caroline is a fantastic cook and has a fabulous kitchen that I am almost, but not quite, ashamed to say that I envy.

IMG_7916b

I grilled the courgette with a lemon/olive oil/herbs vinaigrette.  Next time I’ll crush a clove of garlic with this but they were just fine without; a fresh, natural green vegetable taste.

IMG_8035b

I still would have preferred the wild salmon but this was a nice, easy meal and everyone had seconds.

Planked Honey Mustard Salmon

1 cedar plank, soaked for at least 2 hours

4 salmon fillets, skin on

1/2 recipe honey mustard marinade (see recipe below)

Place the fillets in a zip lock bag with the marinade for about 4 hours.  Preheat the gas grill to 500-600 F.  Place the marinated fillets on the soaked cedar plank, turn off the flame on half the grill, then place the fillets on the cold side, close the top and grill for about 20 minutes, keeping the temperature at 400 F.

Honey Mustard Marinade

1/2 cup honey

3 tbsp Dijon mustard

2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp olive oil

Whisk all ingredients together.

Roasted Honey Mustard Sweet Potatoes

3 sweet potatoes, chaos cut

1 onion, cut into eighths

6-8 sprigs thyme

Salt

1/2 recipe honey mustard marinade (see recipe above)

Mix all ingredients together, place in a baking pan and roast at 400 F for 45 minutes, stirring after 30 minutes.

Grilled Zucchini with Herbs

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp lemon juice

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp fresh oregano, chopped

1 tsp fresh basil, chopped

3 medium sized zucchini, quartered lengthwise

Mix the olive oil, lemon juice, salt and herbs together.  Place the zucchini quarters in a zip lock, then pour the vinaigrette into the bag.  Gently squish around to cover the zucchini with the vinaigrette.  Set aside for about 30 minutes.

Place the marinated zucchini quarters on a grill pan, then place over a medium hot flame on the grill.  Turn and brown on all sides, brushing occasionally with left over vinaigrette.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Salmon, Zucchini and Sweet Potatoes

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I imagine that wild salmon has a choice in what it eats, whereas the farmed ones don’t. It looks like you made up for it with your marinade and the courgettes look lovely 😉

    • Thank you Mad. I’ll have to find out when the fish is being delivered to the supermarket. There is no fishmonger here except maybe a troll in the town center who is not to be trusted.

  2. Dana Fashina says:

    Oh man, now this is doing justice to wild Salmon.
    And I agree, if it’s farm-raised, I pass.
    Great post!

  3. Colin Brace says:

    This time of year I would have thought the courgettes would all be the size of baseball bats and taste about the same. Will wonders never cease!
    I don’t buy farmed salmon on principle — it is a nasty business.

  4. Beautiful and I love this sort of marinade – great with a spatchcocked chicken 😉 And new friends who are also great neighbours are especially good!

  5. icookandcode says:

    This looks so good 🙂 I really like your photos too. P.S Please check out my recipe blog http://icookandcode.com/

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    You are doing very well Rosemary, under difficult conditions. Lovely photography as ever.

  7. Irina Walker says:

    I didn’t see a vinaigrette for the courgetts.

  8. Polly says:

    a little bird told me that you were unimpressed by the offerings at the Honesdale Farmers’ Market…hope you can give a chance to Overlook Farm from Dalton (Waverly), PA. It’s farmers, Mike and LIz’s first year but the produce I got from them last weekend was lovely and delicious. (I might not be completely objective as it is my uncle’s farm but as a passionate foodie I also know a little about quality.)
    If you meet them, send my regards,
    Polly

    • Hi Polly. I do intend to visit the farm and contacted Liz by e-mail. Laura is coming for a visit and we’ll probably go up together. Thanks for the recommendation, I have been going insane since I left France.

  9. andmorefood says:

    salmon and mustard sounds like a great combination! I just had salmon for dinner last night – but with a black pepper sauce 😀 love the bits where the fat caramelizes!

Leave a Reply

