Grilled American Lamb on Kaiser Rolls

IMG_7210b

I couldn’t decide what I wanted to make for our Labor Day meal.  I visited the Alpine Wurst & Meat House, vaguely thinking of beef brisket.  After talking to the butcher, I knew I didn’t want to grill the brisket for 12 hours, so decided on a lovely piece of butterflied lamb.  Yes, butterflied.  That’s what they call it here in America, you British people. Butterflied.

IMG_7205b

It really is a shame that American lamb has very little flavor, other than grain.  I love the grassy, tangy taste of normal lamb.  The lamb here looks good, but if I had not rubbed it with Bavarian essence, it would have been tasteless. Coming from the only credible butcher in the region, this is disappointing.  Whine 😦

IMG_7169b

Some days my tzatziki is better than other days.  Today was a good day.

IMG_7159b

On Sunday we went to a volunteer fire department clam bake about 10 miles away near Hawley, P.A.  We like to attend community fund raising events held at these small town firehouses; pancake breakfasts, chicken and beef dinners, penny socials and clam bakes.

IMG_7154b

I’m usually fairly cautious about seafood at these open air affairs in the summer but this time I threw caution to the wind and ordered 12 of the raw clams, afraid that the steamed would be overcooked and chewy.

IMG_7093b

The raw clams were firm and briny.  Delicious.

IMG_7081b

As predicted, the steamed clams were overcooked and chewy.  The two “fraidy cats”, my husband and Jade, switched to the raw and ordered another serving of the delicious corn on the cob.  The corn is GM of course, all American corn is but, like cake, an occasional piece shouldn’t hurt.

IMG_7118b

Because the towns are close, the different firehouse events are attended by almost everyone in the region.  We saw our framer there.  People are open, friendly and ready to engage.   It’s a good way to let everyone have a look at you and get used to seeing you. Comparative to attending all market days in Sens and/or lolling at Le Litteraire over coffee.

IMG_7128b

It’s always good in the beginning to eat the trashiest food on offer, then you’re completely over it and need never eat it again.  Unless you’re a starving to death vegetarian and all food, save meat, is delicious and elegant 😀

IMG_7142b

I really thought she wouldn’t be able to resist the lamb on kaiser rolls.  Nope.

IMG_7229b

She just sat there mechanically working her way through the macaroni and green salads. Rather sadly, I thought.

Bavarian Grilled Lamb on Kaiser Rolls

1 leg of lamb, butterflied

Bavarian essence

Tzatziki

Lettuce

Tomatoes

Kaiser rolls

Stab the lamb all over with a knife, then rub in the Bavarian essence.  Refrigerate overnight.

Turn on all the burners of a gas grill and preheat with top down to 500-600 F.  Sear the meat on both sides, turn off half the burners, put the lamb on the side without flame, put the top down and roast for about 15-20 minutes.

Remove the lamb from the grill and allow it to rest for 10 minutes, then slice and layer onto kaiser rolls with tzatziki, lettuce and tomatoes.

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Grilled American Lamb on Kaiser Rolls

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a great shame about the lamb – maybe you could keep one in the back yard and fatten it up for Christmas, or ask Cecilia if she’ll grow one for you…
    I did read today that the USA only consumes 0.4 kg of lamb per capita, so that might be part of the problem. Greece (apparently) consumes 12.8 kg pc and Mongolia 45.1 kg pc :-0

  2. It is a shame. I guess I knew about it but had forgotten. It’s true that Americans don’t have much of a taste for lamb and you can see why 😀 Anyway, somebody (was it you?) had a great recipe for vegetarian chili several months ago. Do you remember who?

  3. Lovely dish. Shame the lamb didn’t have the flavour you were hoping though. I’ve been lucky with the local lamb but it’s still not as good as we can get across the pond.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    I always hold that Irish lamb is the best in the world. Frugal suggests that Wales has it. One of us is right. The American lamb is very bland. I butterfly my own, using a boning knife and a lot of patience.

  5. Trish says:

    Most sweet corn in the US is not GM, unless the grower sought out a specific variety. Most field corn is. that corn did look delicious though. Nothing tastes as good as freshly picked sweet corn, not cooked too much.

  6. If it’s any consolation, I would eat the shit out of one of those lamb rolls… possibly two. 🙂

  7. AnotherDish says:

    Okay. One of the pictures you posted here makes me want to split.

  8. Jody and Ken says:

    Hmmm…. we love butterflied leg of lamb–and we do it VERY slowly on a Big Green Egg. I’d also say that we do good lamb, the local stuff from our farmers market which has spectacularly tasty blade and shoulder chops… and just to forestall any potential criticism, I’ll also add that we eat game regularly. We enjoy meat with real flavor! Your lamb sandwiches do look good-and I like the side of macaroni salad (as long as it wasn’t the sweet kind). Ken

  9. reggiorif says:

    Yum, this looks great and your Bavarian essence is something I want to try!

  10. Butterflied lamb is very popular here in Melbourne and many butchers pride themselves on preparing flavoured pieces ready to throw on the barbecue/grill. Greek flavourings are especially popular. Lovely Spring lamb will soon be available but, these days, we can purchase flavoursome lamb most of the year. Lucky us, and our cousins in New Zealand!

  11. I wanted to fire up the grill on Labor Day, but it rained buckets over here in London (figures!)
    I am going to look into getting my hands on some Bavarian essence!

  12. cecilia says:

    Maybe I should grow you some grasss fed lamb! ours never eat grain.. c

  13. Exciting food, Rosemary – I want lamb for lunch, but instead I have a small amount of cheese…

  14. Joyce says:

    I am amazed and glad that someone who has a blog will admit that all American corn is GMO. Even the other day at our out door market a dear truthful farmer informed me that even if he could get non GMO seed, the GMO would cross over and cross contaminate the good. We Love fresh corn and was raised on it in my hometown in Pa. I always said that I was a corn fed Penna Dutch girl. My Hubby who can eat anything gets terrible pains in his bowels and so do I. I go to the market here in Niagara Falls, NY where we now live, and weep as I look at the fresh corn and can’t have it. But it is a taboo subject to most bloggers and they won’t even allow the posting about it or a discussion. Thank you, thank you for your candidness! So grateful!

    • Hi Joyce. Everyone knows that all corn in the U.S. is GMO, unless they choose not to know or care. In addition, much of our food is contaminated with the GMO corn through high fructose corn syrup. Some people just don’t want to know. I want to know and to choose whether to eat it or not.

  15. Mary Frances says:

    Sorry to hear about the lamb. I think most Americans get easily overpowered by the taste of lamb so it’s possible that they’ve been bred to taste more neutral. It’s not quite the same of course, but I find goat is the ticket if you want more of that tangy flavor.

  16. Michelle says:

    You need to make friends with a farmer. Preferably one a little closer to you than Cecilia. 🙂

  17. Pingback: Lamb Gyros and a Near Disaster | Our Growing Paynes

Leave a Reply

