Char Siu Glazed Chicken Drumettes

IMG_7234b

The watch words for today are “easy”, “butter” and “char siu”.   Easy chicken drumettes, baked in butter, glazed with char siu sauce, then sprinkled with wild sesame seeds and Angel hair piment.

IMG_7207b

Can’t – Be – Bothered!

Char Siu Glazed Chicken Drumettes

2 lbs chicken drumettes

Salt and Pepper

5 spice Chinese powder

Flour

2 tbsp butter

1/2 cup char siu sauce

Wild sesame seeds

Angel hair piment

Season the drumettes with salt, pepper and 5 spice Chinese powder, then dredge in flour. Melt the butter in a baking pan in a 400 F oven, then add the floured drumettes.  Bake for 20 minutes, turn, then bake for another 15 -20 minutes.  Remove the drumettes from the pan and put into a large bowl.  Pour the char siu sauce over the drumettes and toss gently with a wooden spoon.  Place on a serving platter and sprinkle with wild sesame seeds and the piment.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Asian, Chinese, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Char Siu Glazed Chicken Drumettes

  1. Very simple but very pretty. 🙂

  2. reggiorif says:

    Honestly, I wouldn’t even bother for the chopsticks. I would go directly with my hands 😉 – It looks “délicieux”!

  3. dodongyetwah says:

    Reblogged this on dodongyetwah and commented:
    yum!

  4. I was scrolling down my WordPress reader, and your chicken stopped me dead in my tracks! I don’t know what angel hair piment is but I’m making this, with or without piment. 🙂

  5. Ok…where have I been, I need to know what is char sui sauce? Once I obtain that information I’m in! 🙂

  6. Amanda says:

    Wow these look delicious. The sesame seeds and angel hair piment are the little touches that make this dish delicious! I’m definitely going to give this a try.

  7. Amanda says:

    Do you know where I could find angel hair piment?

  8. Mad Dog says:

    I could eat those while I’m waiting for my pressure cooker to cook down 😉

  9. Raymund says:

    I would love to nibble on those chicken, looks delish.

  10. We love Chinese five-spice. This looks great. I love the watch words.

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely stuff Rosemary. Really lovely.

Leave a Reply

