The Right to Bear Arms

image

Roger’s going to love this :D. My husband’s uncle was an officer who served under George Patton’s command in WWII. At the end of the war, he brought home his Colt 45 automatic officer’s pistol and, as a gesture of friendship, gave it to his brother-in-law, my husband’s father. In 1991, my husband received the pistol and, because we were traveling, stored it, along with his and our son’s weapons of small animal destruction, at a cousin’s house in Upstate New York, where my husband grew up.

image

As some of you know, we bought a house right across the New York border in Honesdale, Pennsylvania and, in preparation for my husband’s retirement next year, have moved our possessions from storage into the house. He was so excited about the gun! But law abiding citizen that he is, refused to take the gun from his cousin’s house to the house in Pennsylvania until he had visited the Sheriff’s office to inquire about hand gun permits in the State of Pennsylvania. New York has and enforces strict hand gun laws and regulations that, apparently, don’t apply to criminals. Why? Because they’re criminals, Roger. However, “regular” gun owners are well regulated, making it difficult and near impossible for a gun collector/enthusiast to get a permit. My father-in-law had one but I guess they figured he was too old for drive-bys.

image

Anyway. My husband’s inquiry at the Sheriff’s office caused total confusion and misunderstanding. They thought he wanted a permit to carry a concealed weapon! Dismayed, my husband assured the officer that he just wanted to be able to legally possess the hand gun in the State of Pennsyvania.

Officer: But Mr. Mullally, that’s your constitutional right! The right to bear arms!

Him: Oh, I forgot about that…..

Officer: Sure I can’t help you with the concealed weapon permit?

Him: No, Thanks. I’m good.

Above, rare Long Island duck sandwich from the Patisserie, downtown Honesdale. Domestic duck. It’s against the law to serve hunted animals in restaurants.

image

Of course I’ve been cooking a lot, but posting from an iPad is annoying 😦 unless you take the pictures with the iPad and know how to type with two fingers. Ribs are from the German butcher.

image

Potato salad with pretty bowl found at the Salvation Army second hand store.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Right to Bear Arms

  1. Mad Dog says:

    ROFL and some great food to boot! As a person who shoots game, that looks like a very nice pistol. I’m not sure what one would do with it, but I’d have no issue with shooting a house breaker.
    Now back to my barbecue – I just fired up the charcoal 😉

  2. LOLing at that sherif. Darn funny!

  3. Michelle says:

    I had to laugh at the “weapons of small animal destruction.” We have a few of those here. (Though it disappoints me. And I know it will disappoint Roger as well. :)) Welcome home.

  4. Super funny! Clearly there are not as many people as conscientious as your husband!

    Food look terrific, as always. Very impressed that you are posting from your ipad!

  5. The problem with such gun laws is that they only proscribe convicted criminals from owning guns. The danger lies in the guys who have yet to commit the criminal acts. I think the Constitution could be improved by a small spelling edit – “….the right to bare arms” – which would be very useful when washing up:)

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    I am all in favour of technological advances. But trying to post from an iPad on WP is a step too far. If I were doing it, I’d probably end up borrowing the gun and shooting the iPad.
    Lovely story Rosemary.

  7. Tessa says:

    Hilarious! And I really like that bowl that you found at the Salvation Army. Second hand stores are so much fun to shop at. You never know what you might find. Have a great weekend Rosemary!

  8. Karen says:

    I hope you are enjoying time at your new (retirement) home. You are much better thank I am…I take my iPad when I travel too but have never be able to do a post off it so I also take my laptop. Add to that a camera and I have too much equipment. 🙂

  9. Brilliant – sorry it took me so long to get here!

  10. Pingback: Pork Stir Fry with Soba Noodles | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

