Crusty Roasted Bavarian Flanken Ribs

IMG_3367b

Last week I ordered some beef flanken ribs from the butcher in our small village of Waiblingen.  I had printed off pictures of the cut, both raw and grilling on a barbecue.  Flanken is a German word and the young apprentice, language permitting, led me to believe that we had an understanding.  Not.  When I picked up the ribs on Saturday, they were thick cut and more suited to braising than grilling.  S…!

IMG_3250b

The meat was good looking so I attempted, with the help of English speaking German customers, to tell today’s professional butcher what the problem was.  He understood and took the slabs to the back to slice them thinner but, unfortunately, did not have a slicer strong enough to go through the bones.  Resigned, I told him I would accept them as is because I knew I could braise them.  He apologized, discounted the meat by half and promised to have the correctly sliced ribs by next Saturday 🙂

IMG_3289

You might have noticed that I love indirect grilling on the barbecue.  It’s like using an oven, only cuter 🙂  Curiosity killing the Rosemary, I rubbed the slabs with my Bavarian essence and grilled them indirectly for 3 hours.  Crusty on the outside and melt in the mouth tender on the insides.  I win again!  😀

IMG_3327b

While praying for flanken rib success, I made some honey-mustard-onion sweet potatoes in case things went bad.  Mmm good!

IMG_3262b

Yet, I still lacked confidence.  Until today, I have neither made nor eaten rhubarb.  My mother didn’t cook it and it never looked that interesting to me.  Still, I bought some over the weekend in memory of my husband’s mother who used to talk about it a lot. Sliced rhubarb is pretty!  With Jade home for holidays, desert is again on the menu and I made a rhubarb apple crumble for dessert.

IMG_3311b

The perfectly crusty ribs, sweet potatoes and salad did not stop Jade and her father from having two servings each of the crumble.  Good, I love it when they enjoy.

IMG_3414b

Bavarian Flanken Ribs

2 thick cut slabs of flanken ribs

Bavarian essence https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/pork-belly-with-bavarian-essence-part-1/

Rub the ribs with the essence and refrigerate overnight.  Heat the grill to 400 F and cook the ribs, off flame, bone side down, for 3 hours with the top closed.

Honey Mustard Onion Sweet Potatoes

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chaos cut

1 onion, cut into eighths

2 tbsp Dijon mustard

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp melted butter

5 fresh sprigs thyme

Mix all ingredients together and roast in a 375 F oven for 35 minutes.

Rhubarb Apple Crumble

1/2 cup fresh orange juice

1/2 cup sugar

1 stick cinnamon

1 tsp grated orange rind

2 cup rhubarb, sliced

2 cup apple, peeled, cored and cubed

1/2 cup flour

3 tbsp + 1 tsp brown sugar

1/2 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped

4 tbsp cold butter

Bring to a boil the orange juice, sugar, cinnamon and orange rind.  Add the rhubarb and apple, then simmer for about 5 minutes.  Place the mixture in a baking pan and set aside.

Mix the flour, sugar and walnuts together, then cut in the butter until the mixture has the texture of coarse meal.  Sprinkle on top of the rhubarb.

In a 375 F oven, cook the crumble for 35 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Crusty Roasted Bavarian Flanken Ribs

  1. Hey Rosemary, these look amazing, great minds must think alike, I’ve just posted a beef rib recipe too. We call this cut a Jacobs Ladder, and it’s wonderful, usually got a nice cap of fat and meat on top, you gave it the perfect treatment.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. Tessa says:

    Lovely photography as usual! That sliced rhubarb is beautiful!

  3. Pingback: Crusty Roasted Bavarian Flanken Ribs - Decadent Dining Daily

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    The poor retailers in Germany. They don’t have a chance!
    We used to have rhubarb growing in our garden. My mum used to make the most wonderful rhubarb crumble. Your version with apple looks delicious, as do the ribs.
    Best,
    Conor.

  5. You always make the best of these situations. This looks meal looks amazing.

  6. How do you make everything you make look gorgeous? No need to answer, really. Just makes me curious and gives me something to work for.

  7. sylviadewy says:

    Hey Rosemary, rhubarb looks perfect and look so yummy. However, I just have question can I replace the chunky sweet potato salad into a sweet potato mash, I don’t like chewy texture of it!? And I got this super easy mash recipe from a site –

    http://www.knorr.com/recipes/detail/11635/1/super-easy-sweet-potato-mash

  8. Absolutely wonderful – was just going to mention Marcus’ recipe :D. Good looking rhubarb – I hope it’s from Yorkshire…

  9. Raymund says:

    You really have me drooling with your meat recipes 🙂

  10. wow..looks amazing…can i come over for dinner? i love the ribs, and that rhubarb crumble sounds just wonderful…lovely post..sarah

  11. chef mimi says:

    Looks to me like it all worked out very well!!!

Leave a Reply

