Udon Shrimp Noodles

IMG_3210b

I love Asian noodles, especially fresh udon noodles.  One of my favorite sites, Rasa Malaysia, inspired me to try packaged, pre-boiled udon noodles, and drove me to substitute so many items that I’m sure this doesn’t taste the same but still it was good.  For the original recipe go here:  http://rasamalaysia.com/malaysian-style-fried-udon/2/

IMG_3159b

The problem with maintaining my kitchen in Sens, France while I’m here in Stuttgart is that some of the things I think are in the pantry here are really in the pantry in Sens.  For instance, oyster sauce;  I must have 3 bottles in Sens and apparently none here.  Fish cakes; Yep, lots in the kitchen freezer in Sens, zip here.  Kecap manis?  Oh-la-la!

IMG_3147b

I made some kecap manis (Boil together 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1/4 cup brown sugar + 1/8 cup to make a syrup), used hoisin instead of oyster sauce, doubled up on the shrimp, used regular carrots instead of baby and used cremini mushrooms instead of shiitake.  Whatever.

IMG_3164b

The pre-boiled noodle texture is better than the dried, slurpable, but of course not as good as the fresh; the noodles are rather short or broken.  They come in packages of three with 3 packets of sauce and seasoning if you just want them plain.

Udon Shrimp Noodles

3 packets of pre-boiled udon noodles, rinsed in cold water and drained

4 bird’s eye chillies, cut into 3 or 4 pieces

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup water

1 tbsp hoisin sauce

2 tbsp kecap manis

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp sesame oil

3 large garlic cloves, slivered

2 tbsp peanut oil

20 large shrimp

6 cremini mushrooms, sliced

1 carrot, halved vertically and thinly sliced

1/4 small head cabbage, shredded

Put the chillies into the soy sauce and set aside.

Mix the water, kecap manis, sugar, soy sauce and sesame oil together and set aside.

Saute the garlic in the peanut oil until aromatic, add the shrimp and saute until half cooked.  Add the mushrooms  and saute for about 30 seconds.  Add the carrots and cabbage and saute for 1-2 minutes.  Finally, add the noodles with the kecap manis mixture and cook until the noodles are cooked through.

Serve with the chilli soy sauce.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Udon Shrimp Noodles

  1. Tessa says:

    Looks delicious! I need to keep an eye out for those precooked noodles. Have a great weekend Rosemary!

  2. This looks amazing! I haven’t eaten Udon in ages and this is making miss my hometown Singapore & Asia!!

  3. Jon says:

    I buy those noodles at a Japanese/Mex market here; love the pics.

  4. I love Udon noodles too – they’re so fat and slurpy! Gorgeous recipe 🙂

  5. I love udon too, perhaps I’ll tackle them on the blog soon 😀

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely looking dish and dishes. Have you bought some new bowls?

  7. Good Cooks says:

    I love Chinese food, luckily we have many restaurants here.
    Lovely pictures too.

  8. I love how this was sauteed instead of simmering in some broth. Looks delicious! Lovely post Rosemary.

  9. Reblogged this on sherryduan1219 and commented:
    Yum!

  10. Simply Tia says:

    This looks truly scrumptious!

  11. Such beautiful photos 🙂 I love this dish – just the combination of prawns and noodles is something I love: the textures, flavours and colour is so beautiful.

  12. Raymund says:

    I wanna grab those prawns from my monitor, as usual your dish looks good

  13. I always get the dried. I’ll keep a look out for this type the next time I’m at our favorite Asian market. Great looking dish.

  14. Your photos are so beautiful! Looks delicious!

  15. Reblogged this on Le Little Fox and commented:
    I’ll try this someday…

  16. Pingback: Tuesday Dinner: Udon Shrimp Noodles (And a Semi-Accurate Science Lesson) | Al Dente: A Blog About Eating

Leave a Reply

