Stuttgart, Germany

Well, I finally made it to Stuttgart.  I’m on the 5th floor of the Dormero Hotel, one of those ugly, 4 star, monstrosities that abound in large industrial cities.

I’m not really a city girl and Stuttgart is not as pretty as Strasbourg or Paris, but it does have a vibrant town center with a Saturday farmers’ market.

Pumpkins/squash!

There was a fairly large demonstration next to the market with people in their underwear protesting, with graphic, theatrical demonstrations, human sex with animals.  I didn’t get any pictures because not everyone looks good in their underwear.

Stuttgart also has a medium sized food hall offering really expensive exotic fruits, vegetables, breads, cheeses, charcuterie, meats, etc.

Food halls are so elitist!  I love shopping in food halls :D

I like it that the wine glasses are large, even if they don’t fill them to the top.  So much potential!  They also serve wine in little glass mugs but it makes me think of Mason jars.

Restaurants in Stuttgart don’t always have English menus, nor English-speaking waiters. This doesn’t really bother us as much as it did the vacationing Americans next to us who just ordered pizza because it was the only thing they recognized on the menu.  I like amusing the wait staff by pointing at menu items and doing my imitations of food animals; fish, chicken, pig, cow and sheep.  The staff has so much fun and I learn how to order from the menu.  My husband likes “food surprise”, so he just pointed at a likely looking combination of Germanic syllables and ended up with a fairly tasty meat salad.

My fish imitation provided Jade with a delicious plate of salmon with a chives/herbs sauce.

I probably need to work on my “baa baa” but the lamb chops were scrumptious.

Street musicians in Stuttgart.  This man knew quite a few American jazz standards.

Besides playing this enormous German horn, the young man on the left sang folk songs and played the spoons.

This is what happens when everybody in the cultural exchange program doesn’t get back on the plane :)  They told me they were from Ecuador.

Brilliant!

House hunting tomorrow.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Stuttgart, Germany

  1. Love they way you order – I do that too and love “surprise” food (mostly)! Good luck with the house hunting :)

  2. FABULOUS ROSE. Every inch, para, dot, comma, exclamation point. You got some kind gift there girl! Tx for such a grand read. And insights. Not the common kind either. A “large wine glass with potential” one of my favs. Can I copy it?

  3. Debra says:

    I was in a tiny restaurant in Paris years ago and saw a non French speaking couple puzzling over “canard”. An elderly, quite dignified looking local gentleman got up and did his best impression of a duck for them. It was very sweet and funny all at the same time. Everyone applauded for him

  4. Get ready to live in a country without a great sense of humour (you saw the things that they think are funny earlier with the underwear and animal sex – ja ja, ha ha) and, although many deny it, without great food. Fleisch und kartofflen for the most part, but I have to agree about the wine glasses. When I was in Vienna they served white wine in litre glasses with a handle:)

  5. The farmer’s market looks fabulous! I hope you have a wonderful time exploring and getting settled in.

  6. What a wonderful idea to imitate the food you want…I may have to try that sometime. And the food looks very good, as do the lovely markets. Good luck with the house hunting. Always an arduous process, but hopefully with a grand result.

  7. Jon says:

    NIce shots. can’t imagine how much the chirimoya/corossol would cost, but I notice that the pitahaya is more or less what it costs here in Mex, native but not cheap!

  8. Mad Dog says:

    Your new market looks excellent! What was the human sex with animals protest all about? Is there a growing trend for bestiality in Stuttgart?
    I haven’t been to Germany yet, something I need to correct soon, since I regularly work with Germans. Outside of Germany (France, Spain, Britain, etc), I’ve found the Germans to be quite proficient English speakers in general. Evidently that’s not always the same at home, but I’ve been impressed in the past.

    • I have to agree with you Dog. In my travels, Germans always spoke excellent English and, at least, one or two other languages. I expected English to be widely spoken here and maybe it is, but not at the restaurants we have found so far.

      About the protest; maybe there isn’t a law against having sex with animals/dogs in Germany? In anycase, I think the group should have made some decisions about body fitness before going out into public areas. Ugly.

  9. Thanks for sparing us those shots! I don’t want my market drooling ruined. I think you’re drawn to great markets like a magnet!

  10. I visit Stuttgart once but did not have a chance to see the market. Love the pictures here :) and good luck with your house hunting..

  11. Tessa says:

    Beautiful market photos! I hope that you are able to take your gorgeous stove with you to Stuttgart…

  12. Karen says:

    I hope you find a wonderful home that is next to nice neighbors. I know the transition is hard especially leaving good friends behind. The best of luck.

  13. Villy says:

    Lovely photos! Good luck with the house hunting!

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    Thanks for sharing those photos they are lovely, specially the market ones. I hope you had taken a shot of the protesters I am curious now :)

  15. canalcook says:

    I am always baffled at how expensive dragon fruit are. They look amazing, but they taste like a really boring kiwi. I guess maybe because they realise someone will only fork over a fiver for one once before realising they’re rubbish?

  16. canalcook says:

    Also you are right, Germany does not have a law against beastiality, and it is a big political debate at the moment (I had an eccentric Criminal law lecture who liked teaching us about beastiality laws worldwide, even though it wasn’t on the curriculum).

Leave a Reply

