Tarte Tatin aux Mirabelles

I’m not a comfortable dessert maker.  I think I lack both confidence and interest.  However, there is that Emile Henry tarte tatin ensemble to make use of and Jade is always happy to see a dessert.

I don’t like making the caramel for the tarte tatin.  I get nervous.  So, combing the internet, I found an easy way out.  So simple.  I used the same method for the mirabelles as was used for this apple tarte tatin http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15324538.  You just melt the butter, sprinkle in the sugar, put in the fruit and cook until the sugar caramelizes.  Yeah, buddy!

Tarte Tatin aux Mirabelles

8 tbsp butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 1/2 lbs mirabelle plums, pitted

1 pre-rolled pie crust (pate brisee)

Melt the butter in the bottom of an oven proof tart pan.  Remove from the flame and sprinkle on sugar.  Place the plums on top of the sugar, return to a medium high flame and cook until the sugar has caramelized, about 10-15 minutes.

Place the pie crust on top and, with the handle of a wooden spoon,  poke the overhang down into the inside of the pan.  Poke a few holes in the pastry with a fork.

Bake the tart in a 375 F oven for about 30-40 minutes until the pastry has browned.  Place a serving plate on top of the baking pan and quickly flip over.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Tarte Tatin aux Mirabelles

  1. Karen says:

    I not only like your mirabelles tarte tatin but also your Emile Henry ensemble. Both very nice.

  2. I love mirabelles. I can eat them by the bowlful but I’ve never thought of making a tarte tatin with them. Nice idea.

  3. Rosemary, you’re my hero! not only do you inspire with your wonderful recipes and photos, but you’ve helped me to identify a fruit tree in my garden! I thought the fruit were some sort of greengage, but now I know it is a mirabelle tree! It’s loaded with fruit that will be ready in a couple of weeks, and I’ll certainly have to try this recipe.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Mad Dog says:

    It doesn’t look like you have any reason to feel nervous about dessert making 😉

    • Thank you Mad but because I’m not really enthusiastic about dessert making, as many are, I always feel as if I were just getting by. Better to make the things I like to make and an occasional EASY dessert 🙂

  5. looks AMAZING!!
    can you check out my blog please, its new and i would love your feeback! i also just posted a healthy mug brownie recipe 🙂
    Thanks and love the recipes btw!

  6. ceciliag says:

    I really do not know mirabelles at all but your tarte tartin looks just stunning, I love them .. c

  7. You can’t let a good dish go to waste! Comfortable or not, you do a great job with desserts.

  8. I share your fear of making caramel, but your tart looks perfect and delicious!

  9. I’m not sure I’ve ever had mirabelle plums! This is lovely.

  10. cookwithchem says:

    I struggled a bit too the first time I made a tarte tatin. I wasn’t sure how to make the caramel and ended up burning it twice! Third time lucky though 🙂 I’ve made it with pears as well as apples and both worked out well.

  11. Tessa says:

    Never tried tarte tatin before… Yours looks stunning! A must try!

  12. Alison says:

    We have mirabelle trees at the end of our road, on the edge of an industrial estate. Picked 2KG the other day and there are loads more so really happy to have found this recipe – I will definitely give it a try!

Leave a Reply

