Tarte Tatin Abricots

Of course when I bought the apricots, I over bought again 😦   However, not to worry, I had several packages of puff pastry in the freezer and decided to make a dessert.  Tarte Tatin.

I took out the big, black skillet and set to work.  Easy recipe, but the whole while I was worried about flipping it out of the skillet.  So worried that while it was baking I ran upstairs and ordered an Emile Henry tarte tatin pan.  Not that it would help me today, but I felt better.

Apricot Tarte Tatin

20 small apricots, halved and stoned (my new “English” word)

2 tbsp water

1/2 cup sugar

3 tbsp butter, cut into little pieces

Sliced almonds

1 pre-rolled puff pastry

Pistachio, chopped

In an oven-proof skillet, cook the water and sugar together until caramelized.  Remove from the flame and stir in the butter until smooth.

Place the apricot halves on top of the caramel and sprinkle with almonds.  Put the pastry on top of the skillet and trim it just inside the rim of the pan, leaving enough pastry to tuck on the sides of the apricots.  Bake at 375F for 25-30 minutes.  Remove, allow to cool for about 10 minutes, place a serving plate on top and flip over so that the tart lands on the plate, apricot side up.  Sprinkle with the pistachio and serve with creme fraiche, ice cream or whipped cream.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, French, Fruit, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Tarte Tatin Abricots

  1. looks fabulous, i love the pistachio/ice cream combo topping ~ and i love Emile!

  2. I was ogling apricots about an hour ago but didn’t buy any. Now I wish that I had.

  3. Spoon Feast says:

    You did a great job Sens!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    That looks brilliant – no new pan needed 😉

  5. Fantastic – and it turned out perfectly 🙂

  6. Karista says:

    I absolutely love tarte tatin! I’ve never made it with apricots but it looks divine. I just so happen to have a flat of apricots that need to be used. A perfect mid-summer dessert. 🙂

  7. Kavey says:

    It really does look beautiful!

  8. Really annoying! My next post is an apricot tarte tatin! Haha. How funny. We seem to cook in parallel sometimes, Rosemary. Looks great. I see you do yours with puff pastry – I’m a member of the shortcrust school of thought.

    • French cooks say that the crust is not of great importance; puff or short/brisee is fine. It’s the freshness of the fruit, the golden caramel and rich butter that make this a true tarte tatin.

  9. Beautiful! I don’t know if you can ever overbuy apricots. Apricots are my favorite fruit, so I always overbuy 🙂

    Can’t wait to see that Emile Henry pan! Very exciting.

  10. putneyfarm says:

    Looks great! The “flip” is always rough. Do you think we can do this with peaches?

  11. Gorgeous dessert. I can’t picture you overbuying though.. hee, hee.

  12. Tessa says:

    Looks fabulous! I just love apricots!

  13. Villy says:

    It looks so lovely and delicious!!

  14. That looks wonderful! I’m not sure I could wait for 10 minutes to allow it to cool!

  15. Oooo, looks amazing!

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow that tarte tatin looks so delicious, sweet and tangy. I love it

Leave a Reply

