Lamb Barbecue Chez Parret

You know how we have our big celebrations; Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s?  Those are the times that we Americans really celebrate, enjoying the food, wine and company.  But the French, at least my friends in Sens, every time they sit down at the table, be it snacks or a blow out dinner, it’s a celebration.  I really like their style.

I think the secret is to eat with people who truly like the idea of food and like sharing it with others.  I mean, it’s no accident that we invited the owners of the only boulangerie (bread/pastry shop) worth going to in town.  Everyone is so ready to have a good time!

Our children, having grown up overseas, have a natural  “joie de vivre” that makes me want to keep putting the food on the table with friends and family.

Thierry is one of my favorites.  He loves my food and he brings me plates from garage and yard sales 🙂  In addition, he filled my car up with gas (Yes, I’m pretty much a punk when it comes to that) and he’s just a nice guy.

Anyway, we began with les moules marinieres.  Sweet shallots, parsley and white wine.

The main course was my barbecued lamb with a combination of Parret garden potatoes and fresh market vegetables.

Well, yeah, there was the cheese course.  We were after all, Chez les Parrets, both of them diploma-ed cheese experts.

The dessert, a mille feuille, was fresh from the boulangerie.  M. Parret likes it plain but I couldn’t help but say, “Hello, strawberries!”  Never the less, it was good.

Barbecued Butterflied Lamb

2 tbsp olive oil

2 large garlic cloves, smashed

Juice of one lemon

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

Marinated lamb https://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/tzatziki-with-grilled-lamb/

Mix the olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, honey and parsley together.   Set aside.

Preheat the grill to 400 F.  Place the lamb off flame for 40 minutes, top down.

Put the lamb over the flame, turning and basting with the sauce for about 10 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Lamb Barbecue Chez Parret

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Well, I’m with all of you – French, Americans and everyone else – good food and friends should be celebrated 😉
    Your lamb looks amazing, as does all the other food – what a beautiful feast and it looks like you got good weather too!

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely post indeed. The cheese has struck a cord with me. Three days to go….

  3. That looked like a very good time was had by all.

  4. Michelle says:

    “[E]very time they sit down at the table, be it snacks or a blow out dinner, it’s a celebration.” Vive la France!

  5. Looks wonderful! Good food and good company. I agree with Michelle: Vive la France!

  6. Tessa says:

    I love spending time with friends and family. Your post made me smile :).

  7. Wonderful – I still struggle to understand people who just eat to refuel their bodies and don´t actually get great pleasure out of hte whole occasion. Looks like a wonderful day and I am hoping to pick up some lovely French cheese when we drive across it at the end of next week!

  8. Tess says:

    Beautiful dinner party. I could have been happy with only the mussels (a a bit of bread to sop up the sauce), but then you had those delicate baby potatoes (even vegetable eating can sound violent, don’t you think—eating babies?), and of course the lamb which I can almost smell! Oh and the cheeses, my oh my. I’ve never had a French mille feuille. What is between the crepes?

    The best seasoning is of course the smiling participates enjoying your meal.

  9. Oh the cheese, and the lamb. I’m on my way.

  10. I’ve rather been looking forward this post, Rosemary. However, it’s made me so utterly food jealous! Damn you 😀

  11. That looks like a wonderful feast – and yes, it’s always good to eat with people who agree that every meal should be a celebration of food and drink!

  12. Oh look and you put American bubbly on the table too. Hee, hee. What a great post.

Leave a Reply

