Boudin Noir with Celeriac, Fresh Petit Pois and Apples

I saw this recipe for boudin noir at Country Wood Smoke http://countrywoodsmoke.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/bbq-bacon-wrapped-black-pudding/ yesterday that made me say “Hell yeah”!  It also reminded me that I hadn’t done anything with boudin noir lately.  It just so happened that I was going to the butcher par excellence in the village of Gron to pick up my butterflied lamb leg and, of course, he has some of the best boudin noir in the region.  Needless to say, I bought some.

This casserole cannot righteously be called a parmentier because it doesn’t have any potatoes in it, but it is parmentier-like and delicious.

Speaking of delicious, I, no apple lover, have just discovered the awesomeness of Golden Delicious apples.  They’re just good; raw, compote-d, pie-d, whatever.  I’m now a believer.

I put together this imitation of Boudin Noir Parmentier while strolling through the bountiful Friday market in Sens.  What’s in season?  Celeriac, apples and peas 🙂

Boudin Noir with Celeriac, Fresh Petit Pois and Apples

1 1/2 lb cooked boudin noir/black pudding/blood sausage

1 onion, chopped

2 tbsp butter

1 celeriac, peeled, cut into cubes, boiled for 20 minutes, drained and coarsely mashed

1 1/2 cups fresh peas,  boiled for 10 minutes and drained

4 golden delicious apples, peeled, cored and coarsely chopped

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp butter

6 tbsp water

Remove the sausage casing from 1 1/4 lb of the boudin, break up and cook in a frying pan until slightly brown.  Set aside.

Cook the onion in the butter until soft, then mix with the celeriac and peas.  Set aside.

In a sauce pan, mix the apples, butter, sugar and water, bring to a boil and cook covered for 15 minutes.  Set aside.

In 6 -8 ramekins, depending on the size, place a layer of the celeriac pea mixture on the bottom, then the boudin and finally the apples on top.  Bake in a 400 F oven for 15 minutes until heated through.  Serve with a slice of boudin on top.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Boudin Noir with Celeriac, Fresh Petit Pois and Apples

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    When we were staying near Poitiers last year, we had some wonder boudin noir made on duck. They were really fantastic and, I suspect unique to the producer. Or, perhaps it is my lack of experience in that part of France?
    This looks excellent.
    Best,
    Conor

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Boudin noir is wonderful but you must try Clonakilty – maybe Conor will send you some from Ireland (and some Barry’s) 😉

  3. Had to look that up on the internet 🙂 I wouldn’t mind trying some Irish black pudding. A trip to Ireland is over due.

  4. There you go making me jealous of your butchers again!

  5. Boudin is such a good thing and you’ve created a wonderful mix of flavours to compliment it.

  6. This sounds so good – we could use our Morcilla instead of Boudin Noir!

  7. Wow, I’m really chuffed that my recipe reminded you, and you created this beautiful dish, the other boudin in the photo interest me too, the creole and aux pommes, I bet they would be fab.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  8. kathysimmons says:

    I sometimes wonder if we are in cosmic food connection. Your recipes either match my dinners (but mine far less inspired and spectacular) or what’s on my mind. Just emaied a young American woman in Paris (interested in taking an 8 week cooking course from Alain Ducasse with the finale: cooking in a restaurant) about BOUDIN NOIR PARMENTIER (the standard potato “parmentier”) which now retired/owner chef Lulu at L’Assiette in Paris made par excellence. AND here, right after that boudin email is ROSE’S version. Loved it which however starts with a love of boudin noir. What is boudin “creole” (in your photo(?

  9. Thane says:

    Just yesterday, I picked up some boidin noir, and it occurred to me that apples (Granny Smith in my case) and celeriac would pair with it nicely. A little Internet spelunking ensued, and I was delighted to find your guidance, because I know from experience it can be trusted. Thanks again for pointing me toward an excellent dining experience!

Leave a Reply

